Education logo

University vs. College

What to Do?

By Helena ReyPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Education

Furthering education after high school can be a tough choice. It may not be for everyone. If choosing more education, it can come in the form of a certified, community college, college, university, etc.

I have 2 degrees but I went about getting them kind of crazy. I started at a university and did 3 semesters there and realized the major I had was not what I wanted to do for a career. I then enrolled in community college and did a couple semesters there and got an Associate's degree in art (since I had a lot of art credits from University). Then it took me a few years to figure out what I wanted to do. I stayed at the community college for a couple years and tried a different major out but with no luck in keeping my interest. I ended up with a Bachelor's degree from the state college with a degree/minor in what I want to do for a career. I am happy with my decisions.

I was recently talking with someone who thinks she is all that and a bag of chips. She was asking me if I went to school, where and what for. I tell her I graduated recently from the state college with a Bachelor's and she tells me she went to a fancy university. She then tells me that universities are better than colleges and acted like she got a better education.

First off, I was lucky enough to have support and also make enough money to pay for most of my schooling myself. I have zero loans and owe no one. She still owes tens of thousands of dollars and is twice my age. Second, since I was paying for school and was determined to not take out loans, I chose to get my degree from the state college because it was cheaper then going back to the university.

We both have a Bachelor's degree but I feel like I am better off. I may not have gone to a fancy school, but I made it through. In the end it is a piece of paper to try to get ahead and partially for myself. Also, for what I want to do, it does not make a difference where I got my degree from.

In the end, university vs college degree... do what makes sense. If a university degree from a certain college has a great education for what you want in life, then go for it. If going to a community college or state college makes sense because it is cheaper, go for it. If not, and you're going for higher education because you can't get a great job without it, go for it.

college
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.