Education logo

The Vermont Teacher Summer Bucket List

Green Mountains at Their Finest

By HutchPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

What do you do as a teacher when you’re on summer break and you CANNOT sit still? You create a bucket list of things you’d like to do for the summer. It’s a personal goal to finish everything on the list and go into the next year ready as ever.

So what does one include on a bucket list? To be honest, I feel like mine is more like a “to-do” list of things I’d like to get done before the upcoming school year and craziness. I’ll have to work harder for my true bucket list. So here goes nothing...

  1. Read ten books.
  2. Take a weekend in Maine on the ocean.
  3. Hike three new mountains.
  4. 10,000 steps a day, every day.
  5. Relax.

There are only five things on my list because I don’t have a lot of things I want to do this year. A weekend in Maine allows for stress detoxing and refreshing of the senses and mind. The sound of the waves and smell of the ocean water does wonders for me. Sun, sand, and a tan sound lovely. I also enjoy just walking around Maine and driving around finding new places. Lighthouses, old towns, and the animal sanctuaries are wonderful places to learn.

Hiking is and always will be a stress reliever and something new to do each day. You find new things every time you explore new places. Hiking new mountains allow for adventures unknown. Ten thousand steps or more a day is so good for your health! My Fitbit even says so ;) The majority of my hikes will take place in Vermont, but some may take place in Maine. My husband and I are not picky, to say the least. We enjoy a challenge and this year we have a fur baby to bring along and make it more fun.

Here are some mountains we’ve conquered (okay… only like three)…

  1. Mount Pisgah (Westmore, Vermont)
  2. Mount Hor (Westmore, Vermont)
  3. Spruce Mountain

So, we’re looking for a bit more to do. We’re talking Elmore, Owl’s Head, Camel’s, and so on. Like I said, we’re up for a challenge.

Reading—is and always will be an escape. I have signed up for Book of the Month and get myself two books each month! I’m bound and determined to have a library like Belle’s in Beauty and the Beast! I have four books currently from BOTM to read and want to have read ten by the end of the summer if not MORE! If you have any recommendation, tell me. I’m open. I have Prime and will Amazon them to myself. I’m open to anything and am not a picky reader at all. I’ve included my referral link below so you can get a FREE book too!

And lastly, relax. I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO RELAX. Never truly have known how to relax. It’s a problem I’ve always had.

Okay, okay, okay…I have been on break since last Monday and I’ve already created 30 weeks worth of spelling lists, created my purchase orders for next year, and mapped out my curriculum for the next year in ALL subjects. I have a problem. Yes. I know. I can’t relax. My kids come first.

So how am I going to relax? Well, it will probably start around July 7, when I have a spa date with my best friend. I will probably learn then that I NEED to slow down and just enjoy my summer. But until then… I’ll be chugging along here. Maybe I’ll get a book or two done by then!

Wish me luck.

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Hutch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.