Education logo

the red rose key

small, school play created by me. lakanara maddumasuriya

By lucky m.Published 11 months ago 7 min read
1

*This story is about siblings who lost their mother because she disappeared, and are being bullied because they’re motherless.*

* Because of all the bullying and disrespect, their father decides to move to the kid’s mother’s old house, where she used to live. They were very surprised to see that the house was not a house, but an abandoned mansion! , the story continues from here.*

SCENE 1;

Dad: - *gets out of the car* ok kiddos, we’re here…

(The kids get out of the car)

Mia: - this place better be wort- *gasps and stares at the building in awe*

Tyler: - Mia, close your mouth, you’re going to catch a bug.

(Taylor walks toward their dad)

Taylor: - Dad? Are you sure that we’re at the right place?

Tess: - yeah…this place is kind of giving me the chills. And besides, it’s too big to be a house.

Dad: - don’t worry guys, think of it this way, this house is a million times bigger and better than our old house,

*takes a deep breath and looks at the kids*

And it has a different neighborhood, no bullies and maybe you might learn more about your mother.

Temari: - yeah right, *in a sarcastic tone* we would ‘love’ to learn about the person who ‘supposedly’ brought us into the world, and disappeared without a trace, leaving all of us alone!

*All the kids nod their heads*

*the father looks disappointed, and looks down at them*

Mac: - we are sorry Father but it’s the truth, there’s no point in denying the truth.

*the children get their luggage out of the car and walk towards the mansion and out of the house*

DAD: - *looks at the sky* oh Elena, how I wish I could tell them the truth, but alas, they must figure it out for themselves.

*inside the house*

Dad: - ok, so we’ll unpack and clean this place up a bit?

All the kids: - fine…

*After unpacking*

Dad: - great! We’ll split up, Tess and Taylor clean the kitc-

All the kids: - NO! No one is splitting up!!

Dad: - *sighs* ok then…you guys can clean up the attic.

All except Dad and Taylor: - ok…

Taylor: - eww…

*at the attic*

Mac: - *looks at the dusty old attic* ok…not what I was expecting…

But it’s better than cleaning the gutters of a two-story mansion.

Temari:- ok we’ll take sections of the attic. Because you all remember what happened last time…*glares at Tyler*

*everybody glares at Tyler*

Tyler:- I SAID I WAS SORRY!!!

Tess:- anyways…Mia, you take the boxes on the right, Mac you take the boxes on the left. I and Temari will clean the floors and Tyler and Taylor will clean the cobwebs.

*everyone nods in agreement*

*starts arranging*

Mia:- *picks up a very big and heavy box, loses her balance, trips, and falls backward onto a pile of boxes*

Tess:- Mia! Are you ok!?

Mia:- *dizzily* I’m…good…I guess

mac:-look at this…

Taylor:- it’s a chest.

Tyler:- I wonder what’s in it?

Mac:- *looks at the lock* it’s locked.

Tess:- give me a second *goes to the attic and starts stomping on the floorboards*

Tyler:- what are you- *sees the loose floorboard and then sees Tess lifts the cover*

Tess:- rule no:1 about mystery solving, there’s always a loose floorboard

*everyone is shocked*

Tess:- *puts her hand in the whole and searches for something*

AHA!! Here I found a key, maybe it’ll open it!

Mac:- it looks rather…odd doesn’t it?

Taylor:- it’s in the shape of a rose, and is red. But it’s very pretty!

Temari:- are you sure that type of key would fit inside a lock like that?

Tess:- only one way to find out…*puts key in, and turns it*

*doesn’t work*

Temari:- I knew this would happen *picks up a crowbar* out of the way!!

*Temari brakes the lock with the crowbar*

Tyler:- WHERE DID YOU EVEN GET THAT CROWBAR?!?!

Temari:- not important.

Mia:- let’s see what’s in the chest

*they open the chest and gasp*

Tess:- I-it’s mom’s handwriting!

Mac:- and a folded piece of paper that looks at least 13 years old

Mia:- but that’s how old I am, and it’s when Mom disappeared

Tess:- that means Mom must’ve hidden this here before she disappeared.

Tyler:- READ IT ALOUD!, WE WANT TO HEAR!!!

Tess:- fine…wait where is that key?!

Taylor:- oh here, it’s with me.

Tess:- oh ok. So the letter says,

Dear children,

Hello kids, and yes I’m your mother. I am so sorry for leaving you guys, But I had no other choice. Don’t tell your father he doesn’t know about this. Follow the map correctly, and find all the keys, I assume Tess already found the first and most important key, trust me when I say that what you find will be worth the journey. I wish you the best of luck, my little angels. If some entity offers to help, then please accept her help, I love you all.

Sincerely- Elena(mom)

Tess:- *puts down the letter and grabs the map* there are three x’s marked on this, two small ones, and one big one.

Tyler:- I’m guessing that the smaller ones must be, the key’s destinations. Am I right?

Tess:- yup.

Mia:- so why are we still standing here?!, let’s go get those keys!!

Temari:- yeah let’s go!!

Tess:- all right, let’s grab some backpacks, and get out of here

Mac:- what if Dad asks why we have backpacks and are looking like we are going on a camping trip?

Tess:- then we tell him that we are going camping nearby.

SCENE 2;

*after packing everything and telling Dad*

*outside*

Temari:- ok is everybody ready?

Everyone:- yes!

Tess:- ok Taylor, protect that key with all your life, like mom said it must be very important!

Taylor:- *salutes* yes ma’am!

Tess:- so we already have one key, so that’s one down, one more to go.

Mac:- let’s go then.

*so they all journey through the meadows, following the maps’ coordination, then they came to an abrupt stop when they reached a huge bolder*

Tyler:- ok look for something you can hide a key in

*looks around*

Mia:- guys! Look, I found a hole in the boulder! the key could be in it!!

*everyone goes towards the hole and where Mia was standing*

Mac:- Tess, can you put your hand in and get the key, please?

Tess:- Sure *puts hand in and pulls out something blue and shiny*

Temari:- seriously?! Why is everything rose-themed!?

Mia:- Mom loved roses.

Mac:- that’s why. Anyways let’s go, we don’t want to worry Dad by staying here forever!

*they continue following the map till they reach a very old and wide tree. There were fresh red roses, around the tree, and as far as the eye can see. They saw a door, with an oddly shaped lock, with a blue rose print*

Tess:- I guess we are finally here.

Tyler:- yah after at least a century of walking.

Mac:- *looks at the lock* Temari, can I have the blue rose key?

Temari:- sure, here you go *hands him the key*

*Mac inserted the key and the door creaked open*

*The kids get their flashlights out and search around the small room*

Mia:- *shines her flashlight at a huge headstone in the shape of a person, and screams* AHHHHHHH!!!

Tess:- MIA!?, ARE YOU OK?!

Mia:- *too scared to speak, points at the headstone*

Tess:- *stutters*m-m-m-mom?!

Mac:- don’t worry it’s just a headstone.

Tyler:- but a headstone of mom means-

Temari:- oh no…

Taylor:- so, mom is d-dead? *tears up*

Tess:- *sitting next to the statue and holding up a letter* …

*Tess then drops the letter, as if it were about to spit poison in her face, and starts to tear up*

Mac:- Tess? *reads the letter* oh…

Temari:- what does it say,

Mac:- here, I’ll read it out loud,

Dear children,

Well done my little mystery solvers!, so I guess now I owe you guys an explanation. So as you might have already figured out, yes I may be dead by the time you find this. Don’t be frightened or sad. I was suffering from a very fatal disease, and I didn’t want it to spread to anyone else, especially you guys. So I hid myself and told your father to say that I disappeared. And yes I lied about your father not knowing this. I also need you to know about your heritage. This may sound unbelievable, but you should know this village is MY village. I’m their queen. You guys are part of the royal family. So you guys are next in line to become king or queen. Good luck my little angels. And after you read this, my soul can finally rest in peace. Don’t let me down, but then again, you never did.

-Love Queen Elena (mom)

*they suddenly see a faint blue glow*

Mac:- Mom?

Elena (ghost):- yes darling, it’s me.

Temari:- Mom please don’t leave us again!

Elena:- I love you all *she slowly fades away*

Tess:- NO DON’T LEAVE US!!

Tyler:- PLEASE!!

Taylor:- WE NEED YOU BACK!!

Mia:- please…

(this is the end for part one. let's get this to 50 reads for part two, ok?)

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.