Education logo

The Out of State Community College Experience

Why I packed my bags to experience community college in another state.

By Jasmine Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Out of State Community College Experience
Photo by Matese Fields on Unsplash

*This article was originally posted on Medium.

I grew up in Pasadena, California. Right after I graduated high school, I enrolled in a local community college that most of my friends went to.

I went there for two years and after a while, I started feeling restless. I didn't like being around all of the same people and seeing all the same things.

Over time, I grew more and more annoyed with my living situation. I craved to do something new and adventurous. When I met my boyfriend, that door I'd been waiting for finally revealed itself to me.

Everyone thought I was crazy.

When I first mentioned the idea to my family and friends, they tried talking me out of it by saying things like, -

Why not go to a four-year university instead?

Why would you travel all that way for a community college?

In the beginning, it was extremely hard trying to convince my family that I was making the right choice.

Despite their fears, worries, and warnings, I took a leap of faith. At the time, I didn't want to commit to a four-year university because I hadn't decided on a career choice.

I wanted to be in school, try new things, travel, meet new people, and push myself out of my comfort zone. I felt that if I stayed in the same place things would never move forward.

Like many young adults, I stressed over finding my place in the world. I wasn't sure what I wanted to do or who I was.

Before I moved, I was terrified.

I didn't want to make the wrong choice or end up in a situation that would end poorly for me. Despite my fears, I still stepped out into the unknown.

Image of the author's apartment

In the past, I would've never predicted that I would move halfway across the country to live my biggest dream.

In December of 2018, I moved to Illinois and continued my education at Rock Valley College. Upon my arrival, I set three goals: graduate with good grades, participate in a job or club and take risks.

In preparation for my first semester, I transferred the proper documentation. To get started, I started an educational plan, reapplied for financial aid, and applied for work-study positions.

I applied for many positions, but the one I ended up taking was a peer mentor position. As a peer mentor, I gave classroom presentations, promoted the services of my department, helped new students get started, and gave school tours.

Image of the author amongst college friends and fellow peer mentors.

I never expected my first year to be so fun.

I had the pleasure of meeting an incredible group of people and students. I can honestly say that my second community college experience was better than my first.

That year I started public speaking at events, giving tours to local schools, and became president of a club. By challenging myself, I became a more experienced and confident individual.

I was fortunate enough to find someone to support my journey, go to school at an affordable price, and meet beautiful people.

If I could give one piece of advice to college students, it would be this:

Be brave enough to create your unique path.

College is about taking risks and pushing yourself to do impossible things. If I would've listened to the judgment, fears, and opinions of others, my life would've remained dull.

As young adults, it's our responsibility to be courageous and discover new things. Don't let the judgement, pressure, and opinions of others discourage you. The college experience can be anything you want it to be, all you have to do is decide where you want to go.

college
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine

Mindful perspectives, strategies, and solutions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.