Education logo

The Most Rewarding Job But not Enough Pay

special needs

By Ashley WonderPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Life changing Experience

I’ve been employed in my school system as a paraprofessional for sixteen years. It is one of the most satisfying professions and most underpaid.

I work in special education and have worked with every kind of disability imaginable in different school settings. From middle school autstic students to elementary with first through sixth graders to finally finding a home in a local high school where I have learned and grown so much emotionally, physically and intellectually.

I’ve had the pleasure of working in the beginning at this high school with emotional learning students or behavior students who are on IEPS. These are the kind of kids you can have full conversations with, that just need prompting to stay on task. I loved it. I’ve had opportunities to sub and all the kids loved me because I was young, relatable to how they think when they get frustrated with their teachers, parents, or just life. Being a biracial woman also had a positive impact with them when it came to social issues in society with police shootings and needing a safe space to vent.

I still hold words of encouragement from these students telling me “they would’ve been lost without me, you’re the only one who cares about us because teachers think we’re bad”

I’ve had wonderful opportunities to perform my spoken word poetry in different classrooms as a part of their English classes or the yearly Open Mic, and it was always a joy to share my personal stories with them on a stage to show them a small peek into my life outside of work. The kids were always mesmerized by my performance, and would always ask if I was still writing and performing as they were soon graduating and finding their own voice in the world.

One of the most life changing populations I’ve had the privilege of working with over these last sixteen years is the Life Skills population.

I’ve worked among all three levels.

The first level are the higher functioning students of autism, the second are lower with a mix of autistic, Down Syndrome, and lower functioning skills, non-verbal with mild behaviors that require a 1:1 and ABA training. The third level are the most compromised; some are in wheelchairs, non-verbal or very limited speech. I’ve done it all with this population and it took me a while to mentally adjust to see these kids as deserving of an education and respect which can be difficult finding common ground when you’re not used to kids who hit, bite, and pull hair among other behaviors.

When they can’t talk back to tell you about their day, what is aggravating them, or what captivates their attention, how do you know you’re making a difference?

It was during my 12th year when I realized I have a gift for the non-verbal behavioral population.

The student above changed my whole entire life in one short year! I was assigned to him after all the other paraprofessionals were getting injured from his physical outbursts, bolting, spitting, etc..

After many discussions with co-workers who had a better understanding that his behaviors weren’t personal, that helped me emotionally take the hits, kicks, spitting, middle fingers and so many other things we had to overcome and work through to the big joyous smiles this picture captured.

Once I learned the basics of ABA {Applied Behavior Analysis} it really changed how I worked and made a deep connection with this student. Though he had limited speech, he somehow picked up sign language which I’m fluent in and that was the start of our foundation. We developed a rhythm that was life changing for the both of us, to the point the other para’s that used to work with him were completely flabbergasted!

One thing I’ve learned after sixteen years in special education, is that you won’t be liked by everyone, you’re not supposed to, but once you find the students you do connect with, that solid common ground is truly unbreakable.

The proof? Students I still may see running errands in the community, purchasing tea etc will come up to me and tell stories from a decade ago! Most times I remember their names and faces, other times, it can take a moment to remember.

Over the summer, after a poetry performance I did for a youth non-violent event a young man came up to me all excited, “Is that Ms. Ashley?! I haven’t seen this kid since he was twelve years old!

This speaks to the impact I wasn’t even aware I made on him because I was only with his class for six months.

He remembered me telling him people would pay for his amazing artistic talent and I was left with so much joy and speechless when he told me people are paying for his artwork!

The overwhelming rush of gratitude fills my heart every time I think back on this moment. Needless to say, I’m amazed at this gift of working with so many incredible, talented, hilarious, students over a spectrum of differences that it humbles me every day.

Over the last six years I’ve been working with non-verbal behavioral autistic students. It has challenged me in ways I never thought I would find a purpose in. So much so, I’m thinking of becoming an ABA Therapist.

Through working with the three of the most difficult non-verbal behavior students I have seen the positive change in their violent behaviors.

When I first started this job sixteen years ago never in my life would I have thought this is where I would be. I have countless stories and memories of these students that I can talk about all day.

I truly love autistic students and will always have a soft spot for non-verbal kids and young adults.

Once you establish that bond with them it is a life changing experience. When a non-verbal child hugs you, or just stares at you, it is an overwhelming flood of emotions that I wouldn’t change for the world.

student
2

About the Creator

Ashley Wonder

I came into this world with all the odds stacked against me. See my published story "Miraculous" for more details!

I've found my purpose in being a Spoken Word Artist and being a saxophonist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.