Education logo

The Misuse of Words

Here are several examples and why they make me crave violence.

By J.B. MillerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Misuse of Words
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

How many times have you been talking to someone and out pops a word that can not possibly be correct within the conversation context? Or, you're reading a great story, and there it is, a word or phrase that ruins it for you.

Yes, it could be argued that I am being a vocabulary Karen, but it irks me. So, here is my list of ten misused words I come across the most. I may or may not come across them because of my misuse.

  1. Literally: first, this is overused. Second, it is not to be used figuratively. The word means that something is true. So most people are not literally dying when they use the phrase. Well, I hope not anyway!
  2. Nonplussed: It doesn't mean you're bored. It means you're shocked or stunned. For example, 'Mandy was nonplussed when Rachel admitted to sleeping with her husband.' This was before the rage kicked in.
  3. Effect/Affect: Effect is a noun. Affect is a verb. Affect is the doing word; it is what causes the effect. For example, 'The blow to my head affected my vision. The blurry effects to my sight could last for weeks.'
  4. There/their/they're: I know this is everyone's favourite. The memes alone can fill a house. But let's break it down. I will keep it grade school simple. There is a place. Their is a person, and they're is a contraction of they are. Here is an example. 'Their phone is over there, and they're going to need to grab it before someone else does.'
  5. Rein, reign and rain: Oh, the homophones. My eight-year-old is all about them right now. Rein attaches to the bridle of your horse. Without them, you won't have much control. This one is from experience. Reign is what I would like to do. If only over my household and children. Rain, it that stuff that pours from the heavens nearly every day in England.
  6. Deep-seeded: Okay, I have a giggle when I see this one. Because, as a writer of steamy romance, I have connotations with the word seed. The bodice rippers where he deeply seeds his woman come to mind. (haha) but the correct term is deep-seated. IE, one is sitting deep in the seat, so the position is secure.
  7. Another think/thing coming: I will admit, I am guilty of this one. But, in my defence, I was raised in North Carolina. So the correct usage is another think. It basically says you can think again. Or in my mama's case, it was thing; thing being a whooping for something we had done wrong.
  8. Pacific/specific: This is another one that cracks me up. Pacific is a vast salty body of water, while specific is a precise of definite thing.
  9. Appraise/apprise: When you appraise something, you are giving the value of the item. When you apprise someone, you are giving them information.
  10. Definitely/defiantly: This is probably the one I get wrong the most. I know the difference in the meaning; I can't spell the word. It definitely means for certain, while defiantly is a definition of my daughter's personality. No wait, while that is true, it means to defy in adverb form. Definitely; I can't spell this word at the best of times. I always write defiantly. Then I look at the word, wondering why it looks wrong.

I hope you enjoyed my list of misused words and their definitions. Hopefully, it gave you a little food for thought, but failing that, a smile. I have utterly confused Grammarly writing this piece. It wanted me to change everything. Is it bad that a small part of me is pleased with how upset Grammarly is with me right now?

list
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.