Education logo

The Missed Issue with the TMEA Bassoon Presentation

We need More Music Teachers Who Truly Want to Teach

By Emily Christina GracePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Missed Issue with the TMEA Bassoon Presentation
Photo by Marius Masalar on Unsplash

Recently, the Texas Music Educators Association allowed Frank Chambers to give a presentation at their annual conference. This presentation focused on what Chambers believes are the qualities of a good bassoon student. The issue was that his list of qualities were incredibly discriminatory and mostly based on factors outside the potential students control. Many people were rightfully outraged by the presentation. The presentation was contrary to what many musicians believe about the inclusivity of music.

The presentation claimed that the ideal bassoon student possessed: self-motivation, intelligence in math and reading, a high socio-economic background, pre-packaged musical knowledge, and a stable home. These criteria exclude many people. If my teachers had evaluated me based on this, I would not have been given a chance to learn. However, there is one large issue that has yet to be addressed.

Many have noticed that students who come from wealthy homes have an advantage when it comes to learning music over those who do not. There are two questions that I feel musicians have neglected to ask themselves:

1. Why do music teachers often perpetuate the difference of socio-economic status?

2. Why do so many music teachers look for students who have pre-packaged music knowledge?

I have contemplated these questions throughout my entire music career. This has led me to a frightening conclusion: there are too many music teachers (especially at the collegiate level) that are uninterested in legitimately teaching and prefer students that will make their resume look good. The consequence of this is obvious. Students who have at least an upper-middle class background are often favored. In my experience as a musician I have seen this most often at universities. For me, this presentation demonstrates that this occurs at all levels of music education.

This is incredibly backwards. The formal definition of teach is: to impart knowledge or skill or to give instruction. When you choose teach, you are taking on a responsibility to pass on knowledge and skills to someone else. Period. Full stop. That is what teaching is regardless of subject matter. If you are a teacher exclusively seeking students who are already high level musicians you are deluded. Truth be told, I do not believe music educators are doing this purposefully. This is being done unconsciously. Music educators have been taught for generations that only a select few who are born gifted and privileged can study music. Not only is this completely false; but this goes against the very concept of teaching. You can not teach a person something they already know.

This needs to change drastically and quickly if music education is to live on. We need more music teachers like my current private teachers; teachers like Derek who are extraordinarily well rounded, passionate and want to teach students to not only how to play but, establish connections when studying music. Teachers like Nico Giacalone, who recognize potential in a student and get excited to work with them. Teachers like Christopher, who coach celebrities but, have no problem working with college students or beginners. Most importantly, we require more teachers who understand what teaching is and the massive responsibility it entails. I believe my former guitar teacher Nikki said it best “If you are not learning, I am not teaching.” Bringing this accountability back to music education is the first stepping stone towards improving it for all. To all the teachers who teach privately, in public or private school, or at the collegiate level who teach with passion and accountability regardless of a students background: thank you. The music world desperately needs more teachers like you.

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Emily Christina Grace

Hi! I’m Emily but I go by M. I‘m an aspiring music professor. My reasoning for wanting teach music at the collegiate level is simple. Muisc education right now as it is is problematic. This blog will address these issues for discussion.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jason Lee Seiler8 months ago

    I was in the Youth Orchestra of San Antonio from 1996 - 1998 with him, as Contrabassoon. I can not say that I had ever truly gotten along with Frank. The first year I attended, he protested to our director Heraldo Edelstein that he had to sit next to "trash" from the inner city: and more than once I found that my reeds were stiffened with chemicals, threads and pads were leaking, and crooks bent or dinged. After he left, I recovered from much of the experiences and began to thrive, reaching principal my last year at YOSA and placement at UTSA. Frank does come from a very large and wealthy cluster of families with ties to families in many of San Antonio's suburbs, especially around Spring Branch, Bulverde, and Bourne and this also includes some rather distinguished names I will not utter here. He and his friends would, when they targeted individuals consume drugs in group settings, and in the climate of San Antonio's law enforcement community such actions were rarely prosecuted. Out local culture counted drug use and even public displays of drug use as lifestyle choices and mental illness, and not as accessories of San Antonio's larger problem of organized crime; and thus Police (and schools) did not prioritize such things for enforcement during his upbringing. A great number of the musicians I played with at YOSA did not remain in music, and I ultimately left when some of his associates continued to treat me poorly as "inner city trash" even as I played with UTSA for Blizzard Entertainment as we recorded several tracks of the soundtrack for Wrath of The Liche King! Ultimately the harassment (and lack of enforcement) lead to a begrudging decision to leave UTSA, and while Frank was essentially blacklisted from San Antonio's arts culture the harassment would continue time to time. I wish to say I am pleased who and what he is has been seen, and that he - after this amount of time - is not worthy of any more chances in the musical community. - Jason Lee Seiler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.