Education logo

The Introvert's Struggle

A New Experience in College

By Ashlee :)Published 6 years ago 3 min read

As an introverted person, I have often been told by my parents or teachers or relatives or anyone who has anything to say, I am too shy and need to talk more to more people. That is, however, completely against my nature. This is like telling a child with ADHD to simply sit still and pay attention. It is contradictory to the person I am. It takes time for me to warm up to people and I am often uncomfortable with public speaking. That's why coming to college was scary and definitely a challenge for me. I was afraid I was not going to make any friends because I was too quiet to talk to anyone. But what terrified me the most was my Communications 101 class. This meant public speaking, something I have shied away from as much as possible. When the time came to give a speech longer than five minutes, I spoke too quickly, was shaky, and continually looked at my note cards for reference to be sure I would not forget anything. When my grade came back for that first speech, I found I had done pretty well, except my professor had marked me down for "looking nervous." I was horrified and it gave me that stark realization that I had much to improve on in my public speaking. Throughout the semester, I have gotten better at public speaking purely through practice, but there are other things that can help.

In an article I found titled, "The Introverted Presenter: 10 Steps for Preparing and Delivering Successful Presentations" by Richard Tierney, there are tips on how to be better prepared as an introvert to give a good presentation. Tierney suggests writing a script for the presentation. Outlining what you want to say and when. The first script you write does not have to be perfect, just your ideas on paper to revise and perfect later on. Tierney explains that it helps to start by writing the statement with which you would like to end first, so you know what direction you want your speech to go. After having that first draft of a script, you must add, change and subtract to make it sound natural and to be sure it has all the necessary information. Tierney said, "Preparation is not only too cool; for us introverts, it's vital," and he reinforces this by saying to practice over and over. Read it aloud to yourself many times and you will begin to see more things you wish to change. When you hear your speech read aloud you will notice things that don't make sense or things that would fit perfectly with another thought floating around in your head. When you feel comfortable with the new version of your script you must rehearse. He says try it in a mirror and when you feel comfortable enough, in front of a friend or a few friends. He notes it is important to do the practice presentations in front of people that are like what your real audience will be: Same age, same profession (if that is a concern of your speech), etc. The time arrives to give your speech and you have practiced many times. Tierney said that it is important to "arrive to the podium calm and confident." He says it is good to be very familiar with your speech, but there is no need to memorize it, bring the script or notes, with cues for any visual aids marked on the margins. The more familiar with the speech you are, the better you will be able to give it while nervous. Tierney said that rereading your speech one last time before you go to bed the night before the presentation will help you remember it better. Showing up to the event which you are giving your speech is a good way to control your nervousness, it will make you feel more prepared, rather than rushed. Also know that it is okay to be nervous, do not stress that you feel nervous. Tierney says that most audiences are not looking to rip apart the speaker, but rather are excited to hear what they have to say and support them.

Public speaking is very scary to the average introvert, but there are ways to be better at it and control the nervous feelings you may have. Preparation is the biggest key, the more prepared you are, the better you will preform. Don't be too hard on yourself, most people fear public speaking, and it is natural to be nervous beforehand. These strategies may not work for you either, but trying different things, discovering what works for you is how you can improve.

student

About the Creator

Ashlee :)

I'm interested in too many things. Think of this as my brain dump.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ashlee :)Written by Ashlee :)

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.