Education logo

The Greatest Gift of Being a Teacher.

What I've learned in my first 5 years.

By HutchPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

It's not the Christmas presents or the Valentine's chocolates or even the end of the year "You're the best!" mugs. Nope. Not even close. Sure those things are nice, but that's not what I think the greatest gifts are. I remember watching the Ted Talk with Rita Pierson and sitting there thinking to myself... "YOU ARE SO RIGHT." Now maybe others have had other experiences, but I can say that I had AMAZING teachers growing up. My goal as a teacher is to give my students the best of the best and show them every single day that they are loved. I truly believe that a student who feels loved, who laughs a lot, and who feels safe is going to learn WAY more than a student who doesn't feel that way. So what are these greatest gifts? I'll tell you.

1. The daily hugs. Every morning when the students enter my classroom they give me a huge hug, when former students walk down the hall, or even in the afternoon I get the most tremendous hugs.

2. The "I love you" notes stuffed into your bags or left on your desk or taped around your classroom. I can’t count the times that I’ve walked around the classroom and found notes saying “I love you Mrs. H.” Those are the days they don’t even know that I need it.

3. The return visits from former students to get hugs or advice. My first class still comes and gives me hugs and checks in almost daily.

4. The lunch dates that make you laugh til you cry.

5. The times where you can cry with your students. The days when I’m having a REALLY bad day and my students are too and we just cry together on the rug because I can have a heart to heart with them and they get it.

6. The "I don't want to leave" at the end of the day or right before vacation.

7. The messages from parents thanking you for what you do for their children (this is a big one). Huge shoutout to the parents who continuously make me (and other teachers) feel that we’re appreciated for everything that we do. We often don’t feel that enough!

8. The ability to just be YOU. You can be silly, sad, frustrated, and so on and the kids still love you.

9. On the days when you're just having a rough one, the students know and they're ready to be there for support. When you’ve had a rough morning at home or just little sleep or you’re sick and you’d rather be home resting…and your students rally together to work to make sure you’re not having to give too many reminders. Their work is getting done and they’re doing everything they can to help out.

10. The GROWTH as a WHOLE child that your students make from September to June. I’ve watched students make over a years growth academically. I’ve seen my quiet and shy students grow into some of my most outspoken. Those are the benefits of watching children grow from day one. I’ve watched children who disliked reading so much they wouldn’t pick up a book to never ever wanting to put the book down. That’s a gift all on its own.

I've spent the last 5.5 years of teaching honing a craft that honestly will NEVER be perfect. Teachers are never perfect and if you are, round of applause to you. I'll take being the "crazy Mrs. H" any day. I'll take the tears, the hugs, and the laughing til my stomach hurts because I know deep down that's what is making a difference for these kids and little do they know...it's making a difference for me.

teacherstudent
1

About the Creator

Hutch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.