Education logo

THE DISTINCTIVE COW

The cow changed its color

By Zamukulungisa NjaniPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
2

THE DISTINCTIVE COW

There used to be a pretty conceited cow. She had two beautiful curled horns and was plainly white. Though she did wish she could have some great black marks all over her back, she thought she looked fairly nice. The white cow felt it would be great to be the sole spotted cow in the pasture because there were none at all.

She now stumbled upon a tiny pixie blending black paint in a pot one day when she was chowing down on the lush, delicious grass growing in the hedge.

"What are you doing?" the cow inquired.

"I'm blending my dark paint," the small man remarked. "You know, I'm the pixie who paints the spots on the ladybirds."

The cow said, "Oh." Alright, will you please paint some on me then?

The pixie answered, "Yes, if you give me a nice drink of milk."

About twenty ladybirds, all black with blazing red eyes and no spots, stood in a long line. With a neat application of seven black dots on each scarlet back, the pixie made the ladybugs fly off with joy.

"I have no problem doing that," the cow replied. "You can get yourself a tin cup and fill it with some of my rich milk."

The pixie said, "I'll just finish these ladybirds first," and he resumed his job. About twenty ladybirds without spots and with vivid red backs stood in a long line. Each red black was meticulously painted with seven black spots by the pixie, and the ladybirds flew off with joy.

After completing his task, he turned to face the cow that was waiting. "I'm going to go finish my mug," he declared. I would enjoy a sip of your lovely milk because I am quite thirsty.

He took off and returned carrying a mug. "Pixie Pinnie" was his name written on it. After milking her, he sipped from a mug of her smooth milk. He then started combining additional black paint.

"Are you certain you want black spots?" He enquired. Would you mind having a couple red or blue ones? Then, you would appear quite unusual.

The cow considered it. Finally, she responded, "No." "I don't believe so." I'd rather have dark blotches. They'll appear more intelligent than ones with color.

The pixie answered, "Well, you have to remain motionless or I might smudge the spots, and that would look horrible." So, are you prepared now?

Painting the cow, the pixie got to work. You really ought to have seen him! Here's a large black spot, and there's a small one! Three along her back, and two by her tail. Her nose has four in a ring, and her sides are covered with numerous spots. She looks amazing!

The pixie had finally finished. After putting away his paints and taking another sip of milk, he bid farewell. After leaving him, the cow returned to the pasture. How magnificent she felt!

The other cows gave her a long look.

They were unaware of her. This funny spotted cow—who was she?

The cow said, "Don't you know me?" with pride. "I have developed spots."

"Shit!" exclaimed the large cow. Truly, grown spots! You are not one of us. Leave me, you hideous, spotted beast. We don't wish to interact with you at all!

At that moment, the young lad responsible for the cows stopped over to check on them. He seemed surprised when he saw the cow. He declared, "You are not one of our cows." "It seems like you stumbled upon this from somewhere else." Leave the field and return to your own meadow, wherever that may be! What a hideous, speckled beast you are! I'm relieved that you're not one of our cows! Pushing the startled cow outside, he opened the gate. Angrily, she trotted down the lane. I'm going to the next field,' she considered. The cows over there will be happy to have a critter with such beautiful spots as myself!

However, they were not happy! They sent her away after mowing her down. She was not happy. "Now that I have spots, I wish I had not," she said to herself. It was an error. I'll track down Pixie and request that he remove them.

The pixie was gone, though. She was unable to locate him. Then the rain started. The cow sought cover under a tree, but the rain was so intense that she quickly got wet from horn to tail—and, dear me, the black spots all showed through the rain! Before long, not a single one remained.

The cow was unaware that the black markings had been removed by the rain. She was miserable and alone as she stood there. She decided to return to her own area and beg the other cows to have her back after the rain had ceased

With her large tail flapping back and forth, she took off.

The young youngster remained in that spot. When she arrived, he recognized her as one of his own cows even though she was suddenly devoid of spots. So he said, "Dear me, where have you been?" as he unlocked the gate and allowed her to pass.

The rest of the cows gathered around her. They knew her too now that she was spotless.

student
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.