Education logo

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Sports

Learn English the fun way!

By Kevin L. KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Sports
Photo by Andy Hu on Unsplash

Learn the words

1. basketball

2. cricket

3. badminton

4. baseball

5. golf

6. volleyball

7. hockey

8. football

9. soccer

10. tennis

Learn the phrasal verb : End up

Meaning: To be in a final situation or place.

“I really didn’t want to play basketball by myself, so I ended up staying home.”

Learn the verb : Play

“Stan loves playing different sports.”

play: Which sports do you like to play?

played: I played baseball with my cousins last weekend.

playing: The children are playing with your old toys.

played: She hasn’t played volleyball for a while.

Read the conversation

Brad: Abby, do you want to come with me to the park to play basketball?

Abby: I can’t right now. Jane and I are playing badminton today.

Brad: Cool. Where do you play badminton?

Abby: At the same place where we play tennis.

Brad: Really? I never noticed badminton courts there.

Abby: They’re in the building behind the tennis courts.

Brad: I think I’ll ask Stan to join me to play basketball.

Abby: No, he won’t be able to. He’s having a golf lesson today.

Brad: Doesn’t Stan also have to play in a soccer match today?

Abby: Yes, he does. Stan loves playing different sports.

Answer the questions

1. Which sport does Brad want to play?

2. Who will Abby be playing badminton with?

3. Where are the badminton courts?

4. Will Stan be able to join Brad at the park today?

Put the sentences in order

The badminton courts are behind the tennis courts. ___

Abby can’t play basketball because she’s meeting Jane. ___

Stan is having a golf lesson today. ___

Brad asked Abby to play basketball with him at the park. (1)

Read the talk

No sports day

I tried to find someone to join me at the park today to play basketball. I usually play with my older brother, Tom, but he recently had a bike accident and hurt his arm.

Sometimes, Abby plays basketball with me, but she couldn’t today because she had already made plans to play badminton with her friend, Jane. I couldn’t ask my best friend, Stan, because he was having a golf lesson.

I really didn’t want to play basketball by myself, so I ended up staying home and playing video games with Tom. He had bought the new baseball game after his accident.

We both had a lot of fun despite not actually playing sports.

Answer the questions

1. Could Brad find anyone to play basketball with?

2. Why couldn’t Abby play basketball with Brad?

3. Did Brad play basketball today?

4. What did Brad end up doing?

True, False or Not Given?

1. Abby is good at badminton.

2. Brad usually plays basketball with his brother, Tom.

3. Brad, Stan and Tom played the new baseball game.

Take the test

1. Stan wants ___ basketball at the park today.

a. plays

b. to play

c. play

2. Stan first asked ___ to join him.

a. Jane

b. Stan

c. Abby

3. Stan ___ a golf lesson today.

a. having

b. has

c. have

4. Which sport wasn’t mentioned?

a. Volleyball.

b. Golf.

c. Baseball.

5. Stan didn’t want to play basketball by ___.

a. himself

b. his self

c. alone

6. Abby had already made ___ to meet Jane.

a. plan

b. plans

c. planning

7. “We both had a lot of fun ___ not actually playing sports.”

a. despite

b. though

c. however

8. Brad ended ___ playing staying home with Tom.

a. on

b. by

c. up

Begin a new English Lesson:

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: At the zoo

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: Jobs

Teacher King's English Speaking Lesson: In the classroom

Check out the book:

Teacher King's English Beginner Course

Preston Lee's Conversation English

Answers

1. B 2. C 3. B 4. A 5. A 6. B 7. A 8. C

student
Like

About the Creator

Kevin L. King

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.