Education logo

Surviving High School

When most adults look back on high school, the majority of them say that it was either the best or worst time in their life. Some think that high school is straight forward and easy, but those people like me, who struggle in high school, well...this article is for you.

By Anne MarshallPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

MY EXPERIENCE

When most adults look back on high school the majority of them say that it was either the best or worst time in their life. Some think that high school is straight forward and easy, but those people like me, who struggle in high school, well....this article is for you.

Personally, I had a really rough time in school, being tutored all my educational life and working extra hard to get a decent grade in a class. Along with this, there was also a lot of drama. Being a freshman is very hard, especially when friend groups are shifting every chance they get. I began to develop anxiety because of all the stress, which then morphed into depression. Now, at the time, I felt very alone, but now I know many freshmen that go through this type of thing.

I didn't know what to do with myself or my life, so I shut down. I wouldn't eat, sleep, leave the house, and rarely talked to my family. I now realize that that was the worst thing I could've done for myself.

Eventually my mom found out and put me through counseling. Now personally, I feel that every struggling freshman should go through therapy because even if it's just a small issue to you, it could turn very big very fast. I got help and began to find myself, so in a weird sort of way, this hard time helped me grow.

HOMEWORK

I would work on homework for hours on end and would end up sobbing. I learned that I should

  • take breaks between my work and always make sure I'm not hungry while I work, otherwise I become hangry.
  • find a comfortable place to work and make a time in the day, like maybe right after school to work so you can get it over with
  • NEVER EVER be afraid to speak up to your teachers and ask for help. At first you might feel a bit uncomfortable, but the teacher will help you and then get to know you better in return

FRIENDS

Freshman year I would be so self conscious about myself. I would worry that people were talking about me and judging me. In reality, most people don't care what you look like in high school and you should just be yourself. Finding friends is also very hard. You will gain friends and lose them, but in the end, you have to do what's best for you and your mental state. Over time you will find what you like and dislike in friends. One thing I would never do was stick up for myself when friends would be mean. This is something I very much regret. It takes three seconds to gain confidence and say what you want to say. What comes after that is up to you, and yes, you don't know what the other person is going to say, but if they are that mean to you, does it matter?

MEAN TEACHERS

I had my share of mean teachers who would make me cry all the time. I find many teachers intimidating and rude, but the only thing you can do is to just work even harder. Don't fail yourself through the class because they didn't see your potential, instead show them what they missed out on. Don't give them the pleasure to say I told you so, because behind that intimidation is a very weak person who is mean to kids because they feel horrible about themselves.

Teachers are very difficult, and many tend to get stressed out very easily, so if you do want to ask them a favor or question, wait until they've calmed down. If a teacher snaps at you, show them you're not scared of them by coming back the following day on a free period and asking them for help on an assignment. Now I know you don't want to do this, but it shows the teacher you "care"about the class and then they will treat you fairly.

EMOTIONS

I have changed throughout high school a very great deal, and one of the reasons why is due to my emotions. No one feels the exact same way you do, so cherish that, because in the end, you are different than the person next to you. If you need to cry, it's okay to cry, just don't allow yourself to feel pity for yourself. When helping a friend out if they are sad or what not, don't put all your time and effort into them. I know you care about them, but taking time for yourself is more important than anyone else's mental health.

When you are sad, watch a funny youtube video, just don't spend the whole day in your house locked up, because then that will become a very bad habit. make a list of things you can do when you are feeling any type of emotion, because every single emotion of yours matters, not just happiness. Put happy quotes up in your room or try something new. These little things will help your school and home life. In the end, high school will become easier day after day.

high school
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.