Education logo

Some Things You Just Never Hear

A day in the life of an International School in China

By John Oliver SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Some Things You Just Never Hear
Photo by 绵 绵 on Unsplash

During the final eight years of my teaching career, I had the wonderful opportunity and once-in-a-lifetime experience of teaching in an International High School in Wuhan, China. There were so many things that took place on almost a daily basis in that school over those eight happy and memorable years that I will never forget and which seemed like an annoyance at the time but really were the substance of good-hearted fun. In the account below, I will list a few of them, in a format that may only make sense to teachers and students who have encountered the same experiences during the same time period.

TOP 30 EXPRESSIONS THAT NO ONE WOULD EVER HEAR UTTERED AT WUHAN MAPLE LEAF INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL DURING THE YEARS FROM 2011 TO 2019

30. I just can’t wait to get over to the cafeteria for another wonderful meal.

29. How can I be expected to learn any Chinese, when all the students ever speak is English?

28. On days when I’m not at school I don’t know what to do with that extra 3.5 hours.

27. How will we ever use ALL the toilet paper in the men’s washroom?

26. I usually use the boy’s washroom on the 4th floor during exercise break when there’s nobody in it.

25. Oh, goody!! I get to wear my school uniform again today.

24. I think we may need more staff meetings each month.

23. I’m only going to the 2nd floor. I think I’ll take the stairs instead of the elevator.

22. I’ll be there in 2 seconds after I’m finished downloading this email attachment.

21. Damn it!! Flags ceremony is cancelled again today.

20. I wish we could find some students in the school who are interested in performing on stage.

19. I don’t really think we need a CHEATING policy at the school?

18. I hope we get to talk about exam invigilation at the staff meeting on Thursday.

17. For a nice change today, I hope I get an exciting and informative email about the school evacuation policy.

16. I think I’ll just leave my cell phone in my dormitory room today.

15. OMG, is this WiFi fast or what?

14. This orange-colored meat in the cafeteria today, looks positively scrumptious.

13. I think I deserve to lose my cell phone for the rest of the school year.

12. What the hell is a dust-bunny?

11. I find that topping up the credit on my meal card is such an enjoyable experience.

10. No need for a garbage can in my homeroom.

9. I just can’t get enough of MOODLE for my liking.

8. It was only on the floor for 30 seconds; it should still be clean enough to eat.

7. Wow, does it ever smell fresh in the washroom today.

6. Are 4 reporting periods and 4 interim reporting periods and 9 month-end records really enough for one school year?

5. Hey, here's an EMERGENCY SCHOOL EVACUATION memo we haven't seen before.

4. Wow, this liquid hand soap is so rich and high quality. They could probably dilute it to make it last a little longer.

3. Thank God for working Saturdays, I really hate the thought of ever travelling outside of Wuhan.

2. The only way this staff meeting could be any more exciting would be for an English teacher to put a hand in the air and ask another question.

1. Thank God for exam invigilation. I just wish I could supervise more e-exams.

****** BUT, YOU KNOW WHAT? I LOVED THAT PLACE. IT WAS REALLY A LOT OF FUN AND IT REALLY DID MAKE ME LAUGH. I WILL MISS IT ALWAYS.

high school
1

About the Creator

John Oliver Smith

Baby, son, brother, child, student, collector, farmer, photographer, player, uncle, coach, husband, student, writer, teacher, father, science guy, fan, coach, grandfather, comedian, traveler, chef, story-teller, driver, regular guy!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.