Education logo

Some Insights On Traveling Abroad Alone

My personal experience of traveling abroad

By Sinovita Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Everyone likes to travel differently. Traveling alone, you don't need to accommodate other people's time, you can leave immediately when you want to leave, and everyone's consumption level, the attractions to see, and the physical strength of each person are different. For example, in Bali, some people like rafting, surfing and skateboarding, and I just want to see monkeys in the strong artistic atmosphere of Ubud, climb terraces, do spas, go to bars. Traveling alone does not need to consider the preferences and feelings of another person. All the attractions and time arrangements are designed by myself. The places to go and the time to stay are specially customized according to my own preferences. People will have a lot of fun when they travel. Basically, no time is wasted throughout the whole process, and time and energy are spent on the experience and feeling of the scenery. I'm sure I'll have a lot of fun if I have a friend who likes to travel with me, but I'll enjoy being alone if I don't meet a friend who wants to travel to the same country at the same time!

If you wish to travel abroad on your own, I think it will be better if you can do the following.

Open up and communicate with people

I often hear people say that traveling alone is very lonely, and there is no one around to talk to. No, I'm enjoying it. There is no need to consume your patience to wait for others, no need to accommodate anyone's joys and sorrows. When traveling abroad, you will always meet many international tourists with backpacks. They are usually very willing to communicate. Sometimes, they will even ask you if you need them to take photos for you. If you can open up and communicate with them, they are very happy, and chatting with them may open a new window to the world for you. This time, I went to the Monkey Forest Park in Ubud, Bali. Many tourists were in the same corner, looking for an angle to take a photo of a monkey. A foreign girl next to me asked me “would you like me to take a photo for you?” She also said that she liked my dress very much. "Your dress very beautiful!" I answered her, "I bought it from here, There are many different styles of skirts in the wubu street." So we chatted happily.

Find a way to pass the boring time

When traveling, you can’t escape the torturous waiting. The plane doesn’t wait for anyone. You only have to wait for the plane. The way of waiting and the airport facilities are different in each country. There are restaurants, shopping streets and bars next to some waiting rooms. , There is a spa, like Bali Airport, and the restaurant in the waiting room is arranged like a bar. In Singapore airport, there are many shopping stores and restaurants in the main area, but when you go to a specific waiting room, it is like a barren mountain and nothing! Even buying a glass of water has to run a long way, and I am afraid that the late plane will take off temporarily, so I just stay in the waiting room and wait patiently. At times like this, I might listen to music, post photos to social platforms, and read their messages and comments. Sometimes their replies make me overjoyed.

Be as detailed as possible

Every time I travel, I have a lot of fun. I think it is because I have made a lot of travel preparations, and I have made specific arrangements for my itinerary. Even the location, characteristics, and layout of the surrounding scenery of the hotel are all prestudied in order to gain a basic understanding. I am very skeptical about the kind of travel that doesn't do any travel guides at all. Specifically, you go to a strange country, and you don't even know where to find the hotel you need. How can you talk about a happy travel? If it's getting dark and you're at a loss as to where to stay tonight, maybe you find a hotel and find that the hotel rooms are full, wouldn't you be very anxious?

Keep a curiosity to see the scenery at any time

Go on a trip, see more, and turn around, and there may be surprises. Traveling to Singapore, I used almost all the time I could to go outside and see as much as possible. Going to the Jinsha Hotel also made me extremely happy. I thought that there was nothing to see in the hotel except shopping. Unexpectedly, the atmosphere of the hotel is super good, and the layout is also very special. I bought an ice cream in an ice cream shop. This is the best ice cream I've ever had. At night, I didn't want to go anywhere except to sit by the river and enjoy it quietly. I sat until nine o'clock in the evening. I was worried that it would be too late to get on the subway, so I reluctantly left.

If you want to travel, don’t give yourself so many excuses for not being able to travel, say “I don’t have time, my family doesn’t agree with me to go out, and I can’t find a suitable friend to accompany me”. Those should not be a reason for you not to travel. Go if you want! Slowly, you will fall in love with traveling alone! Travelling alone will make you more fun, refreshed and happy! Maybe on the way to travel, you will really meet a new and different self!

travel
Like

About the Creator

Sinovita

This is Sinovita! I have been freelance writing for more than 10 years. I love traveling and writing. I feel writing is a natural record of true feelings after serious life, and life is always a better script than a movie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.