Education logo

Single Mum Study Time

Mature Student Advice for Those Going Into the Unknown

By laura caseyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

OK, so how did I get to being a mature student?

Well, let me tell you, there is a stigma attached to being a stay at home mum; some say that you aren't willing to work, others say how easy life must be. It's not, and most single mums out there will know that, when a child is having a day of it (throwing a tantrum), mentally, you're better off at work, LOL.

OK, so five years ago, I had this lovely little soul in my hands, and I'm as happy as can be. Yet I knew that soon I would have to leave my little soul and go out into the working world again.

I had worked in sales for many years and decided that, if I was going to do that again, I would need to earn more than I did before. After asking around in my last job, I noticed that those that seemed to get better pay all had one thing in common—Yep, a degree.

So I decided to get to my nearest college to see what was on offer. I was looking to do an access course to university in media. I'd gone past selling. I wanted to make the adverts that sell. Unfortunately, or may I now say, fortunately, the course wasn't going ahead, yet the lovely lady interviewing me decided that I would be good for the business course.

I really thought it was going to be hell. However, after enrolling and starting on my first day, I was hooked.

OK, so there were days when I'd get home, the house was a mess, and my real job would start, yet, once in the swing of my newfound life, I adjusted by simply being organised.

There were some tears, yet I never gave up. 18 exams later, I'd made it into year one of my degree.

People today ask: "So how do you do it?"

So here I am, giving it straight to you.

Note the word organised. It's pretty much how my life is. There is family time and study time. There is no TV time; no hobby time.

From 7:30 in the evening, my books are out, the computer is fired up, and that's pretty much my life until bedtime. There is the assignment due in time, and that's when bed time can be 2 AM and back up again at 5.30 AM.

To be a dedicated, mature student, you know that some things are going to be put on hold.

I've lost friends who simply don't get why I've vanished off the earth. I would say that those that really have your best interest at heart, no matter what you choose to do in life, will be there no matter what, and these are your best friends.

And in the end, you have to follow what's right for your soul and your little soul.

And if my soul is happy, I'm sure it will make my little soul happy, too.

OK, so I may not land my dream job, but my confidence has gone through the roof. I can say with my hand on my heart that it was the best decision I've ever made for myself.

There are many ups and downs, like with all things in life. Yet that feeling of pride when you have that certificate in your hands is powerful.

OK, so it's not my life, and family must always come first, yet for those that are considering doing a degree, I would say go for it.

Find a home time schedule and stick to it where possible. Once your child is asleep, don't switch on the TV. Pick up the books and pen, and remember that it will not be forever so go for gold.

I believe in destiny, but how can destiny find you if you're not out there to be found?

I put myself out there and stepped into the unknown, yet destiny put me on the right path.

So the moral of my story is: don't let stigmas hold you back. Be who you want to be. Aim high and go for it, and let fate take you for a ride.

Enjoy it.

—Laura

student
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.