Education logo

Service Lifecycle within ITIL

The Service Strategy is the very first and the first stage of the life cycle within ITIL. ITIL framework.

By varunsnghPublished 5 months ago 4 min read

ITIL framework is ITIL framework is built around the lifecycle of the service. Lifecycles of IT Service Management is also known as a 'Plan Do-Check-Act (PDCA) or the 'Deming Cycle'. It assists service providers get an understanding of the structure. The document also outlines the method of how services are established and then maintained.Are you looking to become an ITIL specialist? Check out the ITIL 4 course and get certified.

The life-cycle of a product or service within the context of ITIL is broadly divided into five phases:

  1. ITIL TutorialService Strategy
  2. Service Design
  3. Service Transition
  4. Service Operations
  5. Continual Service Improvement

Each stage of this lifecycle includes the diverse processes in ITIL and all steps are linked. In this article, we will discover about every stage of the service lifecycle, one at a time.

Service Strategy

The Service Strategy is the very first and the first stage of the life cycle within ITIL. ITIL framework. The principal goal for this phase is to provide an action plan based on of the present market conditions and business perspectives for the IT services. IT.

This stage is mainly about the strategies, positions patterns, perspectives, and patters that are necessary by a service company. It defines the fundamentals and guidelines that guide the entire lifecycle of an IT service.

Here are the most important processes or services that fall within the Service Strategy stage:

  1. Financial Management
  2. Demand Management
  3. Service Portfolio Management
  4. Business Relationship Management
  5. Strategy Management

Strategy Management:

The goal of this process of management is to determine the products of competitors, the offerings, and the capabilities of a service provider in order to create a plan to meet the needs of customers.

In accordance with the latest Version 3 (V3) of ITIL This process includes the following IT services:

  1. Identification of Opportunities
  2. Identification of Constraints
  3. Organizational Positioning
  4. Planning
  5. Execution

The following are the three sub-processes that fall in this management process:

  1. Strategic Service Assessment
  2. Service Strategy Definition
  3. Service Strategy Execution

Financial Management:

This helps in determining and regulating all costs related to the services provided by an IT company. It also includes the following three fundamental actions:

1. Accounting 2. accounting 3. Budgeting

The following are the four sub-processes that fall under this management system:

  1. Financial Management Support
  2. Financial Planning
  3. The Financial Analysis, Reporting and Analyzing
  4. Service Invoicing
  5. Demand Management

The management process is crucial and essential at this stage. It aids service providers to comprehend and anticipate demand from customers for their IT services. Demand Management is an method that is also connected to processes like Capacity Management. These are the primary goals of this procedure:

This process is a way to balance the resource demands and the supply.

It also maintains the level of the service.

In accordance with the latest version 3.0 (V3) of ITIL the ITIL process, it performs three tasks:

  1. Examining the current use of IT services
  2. Predict the future demands for IT Services. Services of IT.
  3. Influncing Consumption through financial or technical means

There are two sub-processes of this management procedure:

  1. Demand Prognosis
  2. Demand Control.
  3. Business Relationship Management

This management procedure helps to maintain good and positive relations between the company providing the services as well as its customers. It also analyzes the needs of the customer. It then makes sure that the services are provided through the provider to satisfy the requirements of the customer.

This procedure has been made available as a new method in ITIL 2011 ITIL.

In accordance with the latest version 3.0 (V3) of ITIL the ITIL process, it performs the following functions:

This method is employed to present this service company to client in a positive way.

This method identifies the needs of business for the customer.

It also serves as a mediator in the event that there's any competing requirements from different business.

The following are the six sub-processes that fall under this management system:

  1. Maintaining Customer Relationships
  2. Determine the Service Requirements
  3. Customers who sign up for Standard Services
  4. Customer Satisfaction Survey
  5. Respond to Customer complaints
  6. Check Customer Complaints.

Service Portfolio Management

This management procedure defines the customer-oriented services that are offered by a service provider in order to meet the requirements of the client. The principal objective of this procedure is to ensure the integrity of the portfolio of services.


About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2023 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.