Education logo

Rules for Media Students

A List of Practical Advice for a Class...

By Kendall Defoe Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
1
Rules for Media Students
Photo by Hunter Moranville on Unsplash

I have been teaching at a college in my adopted hometown of Montréal for many years now, and one of my courses is a media class that was developed for them in English. I have taught this particular course for over a decade now, and one of the things that I have discovered is that my students are quite conservative. This is not to say that there has been no talent in my classes. It means that I have had to shock them out of their complacency about what work in the film business will be like and what types of jobs are available out there.

Since I have developed this course - no textbooks; all material taken from online and print media; video and audio files updated continually - I have found that it helps to hand out the list that I have included here. With this piece, I am attempting to show that it is possible for them to step out of their particular boxes and become a true cinephile. It could also help those of you who have spent too many nights stuck in a rut with a Netflix account and a bad taste in your thoughts about what you love to watch. And please note that all of the filler between the rules has been added specifically for the Vocal crowd.

So...

By Denise Jans on Unsplash

RULES FOR MEDIA STUDENTS

1. STUDY A PIECE OF TECHNOLOGY OR EQUIPMENT YOU HAVE NEVER USED BEFORE

I began here because I noted that many students had a bit of a problem. They would study and show a real talent for using a mixing board, a computer program, or running the lights, but that was it. They never went beyond what they knew. Expand your field of expertise, folks.

2. DO NOT BE AFRAID OF MAKING A MISTAKE

I truly think that parents are doing their kids no favours by telling them that they will become a failure in life if they do not get the right grades, go to the right schools, and never, ever do something wrong. No wonder I see so much anxiety and depression in some of my best students.

You cannot learn to walk without taking a fall or two. Be fearless.

3. BE TRUE TO WHAT YOU WANT TO SAY OR DO

This is all about your vision for whatever project you intend to work on. I have seen too many group projects degenerate into a single-minded effort by one student to dominate and control what gets handed in. This is just too depressing to contemplate: whatever happened to believing in yourself. No great talent has ever remained under a rock. The world wants to see it and know what you've got.

4. EVERYONE ON A FILM OR TELEVISION SHOOT IS IMPORTANT

Again, this might seem obvious, but never say never. And yes, it is not a rule, but something that you be mentioned all the same. I tell every class every semester that the person you ignore may one day be connected to the ass that you have to kiss in order to get involved in a dream project. People may not remember what you said or did, but they will always remember how you made them feel. Be careful about what kind of impression you put out into the world. It will come back to you.

5. DEVELOP YOUR CONTACTS NOW

This is connected to the fourth point. Making friends on a set means making contacts for your future. It is still one of the best ways to find a job and get your foot in the door.

6. WATCH A FILM OR TELEVISION SHOW THAT WAS NOT MADE IN NORTH AMERICA, CANADA OR QUEBEC

Okay, let me explain...

As I have stated, I teach in Montréal, Quebec, a city known for its lively arts and culture scene. It is also well-known as a place where many films and projects get developed and distributed all over the province. What many outside of the province do not understand is that Quebec has a self-sustaining industry that is the envy of English Canada (there are just too many jokes about how bad an English Canadian film can be in this country to list the best ones here). And this is why I encourage my students to step out of the box and see what is out there. They may know Hollywood or local studio productions, but do they know what type of work is being done in Brazil, Thailand, Kenya, China, Scandinavia and any other port of call that is not home? I doubt it.

By BBiDDac on Unsplash

7. WATCH A FILM OR TELEVISION SHOW THAT WAS NOT MADE IN YOUR OWN LANGUAGE

Again, this is a very difficult call for students who feel threatened by subtitles (and yes, those people do exist). Once you realize that film is a visual medium, language is only secondary to your enjoyment of the experiences. And you will learn something about another culture (see point #6).

8. RE-WATCH YOUR FAVOURITE FILMS AND TV SHOWS AND MAKE A LIST OF WHAT YOU LIKE

Not that hard to do. Some of the wiser students have analyzed the best years of Kubrick, Tarantino, Hitchcock and others and come away with some interesting insights about their strengths and weaknesses. Again, it is something we should all try at least once.

9. RE-WATCH YOUR FAVOURITE FILMS AND TV SHOWS AND MAKE A LIST OF WHAT YOU DO NOT LIKE

This is a much harder road for some. How do you tear apart what you love to find the moments that do not ring true; the moments that seem to be out of place with the story the director means to tell? I must be getting older and more cynical because I find that this particular rule does not bother me as much as it does any of my students. Hunt and see if you can find them. They will leap out.

By Jonny Gios on Unsplash

10. CREATE YOUR OWN RULE

Did not expect this one at all, did you? Well, I would feel like a tyrant if I gave this out to my students, readers, friends and anyone in-between without giving them a chance to add to my little list. And hey, maybe stopping at ten rules is not enough for you. If you decide that there is something else that should be added here, don't bother to try and tell me about it: make your own list. I am very curious as to whether or not I have missed something that seems very obvious to you and your cinematic heart.

Enjoy and have fun with this!

Papa Capra was right!

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

courses
1

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • leoni lotti2 years ago

    Well written

  • aaliyah kale2 years ago

    Watch you

  • leoni lotti2 years ago

    Awesome

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.