Education logo

Review of White Fragility by Robin Diangelo & How to be an AntiRacist by Ibram Kendi

Review of Why I am no Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge

By Ferrari KingPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Before I begin let me start by saying my review may or may not be an endorsement of these books. I do believe they should be read, and you should never let someone else tell you what is in these books. Most of what they will say will be untrue. I also recomment, Rules for Radicals, by Sail Alinksy, mainly because you will hear people claim he is a communist but once you read that book you will see he despises ideologies because they become too dogmatic. He is simply telling people how to protest injustice and wants both the right and the left to become better. He mainly stats the Communists know how to protest. Another book is, Critical Race Theory, by Richard Delgado & Jean Stefancic, simply so you know what it is.

After I am finished, I will add some stuffs I just want to ramble about but let’s start with, White Fragility by Robin Diangelo. After reading this book I realized that White Fragility does not mean to her crowd what people think it means and I have come to agree with her. I do believe some of her stories just like the stories from the other authors are a bit exaggerated just like I hear preachers, when I use to be a believer, tell their stories, especially their stories about atheists and evolutionist they claimed to have met. I do not believe these authors exaggerated as much as those preachers though. She discusses the good/bad binary when it comes to racism which you should learn about.

I will give you two examples from students from a former teacher working at a predominately black school. During my first year I had a student tell me he gets pulled over by the same cop about three times a week at night as he is coming home from work. When he tells the cop that this is not the first time the cop pulled him over the cop denies it. This person could listen to him, or just dismiss him by saying something such as well they do it to everyone. He chose the first. In the second encounter he had an older student tell me she was at Wal-Mart, and she left her purse in her cart as she went to get something. When she came back her wallet was removed, and she saw a cop standing nearby. She noticed that the cop hid his badge while talking to her and security, who was willing to review the security footage then changed their minds once they saw the footage. A few weeks later she said that the wallet was returned to her landlord by a cop, and she noticed cops following her the entire time. She was an A student that went on to become a nurse. These really happen.

The book is well written, and I believe it should be read by everyone. It could be tough for some people to read, do to the subject, but it is worth it.

Next on the list is, How to be an Antiracist, by Ibram Kendi. This is my favorite of the three books. If someone tells you that only whites can be racist or that minorities cannot be then refer them to chapter 11 of this book. He basically tells the story of his journey to be becoming an antiracist. Almost all the negative things people claim he says are untrue. He mentions IQ and standardized test and explains why they are hurtful to minorities. This is how I see it. If you can study to take the test to pass but not actually learn the material then the tests are useless and these standardized tests, IQ tests and personality test are just like that. Students at poor schools will receive very little training to pass these tests while those at the better school get training. Plus, these tests prevent teachers from teaching since they must teach the test. I got an IQ of 13 simply because I studied the math. There is right-wing radio host that brags about is 170IQ as if it means anything, but he cannot tell the difference between climate change and weather. Please note I do believe that many of these people on both the left and right are nothing but hustlers, I certainly believe that radio host is a hustler, and will use race, the environment or anything else to profit off of. They do not want these things solved so they can keep writing books, give seminars and such. I do not believe Kendi to be one of these hustlers. I highly recommend his book.

The final book is by a British author, Reni Eddo-Lodge, Why I am no longer Talking to White People about Race. She gives us her experiences in Britain. This is a must read. I remember a racist guy, let’s not mention his name, tell a British black man that he was not British. I could not help but laugh since the guy had a British accent and was born in England, but the White Nationalist wasn’t. Reni will mention how minorities are treated in Britian. I am surprised that none of these authors mentioned that in most poor neighborhoods, trains run very slowly and pften times stops for up to 45 minutes. They also run often but in more affluent neighbors if they have trains, they run quickly.

Finally, it is time for me to rant and most will not have anything to do with what I wrote. The reason why I am against athletes taking a knee, is because they did it on the job. If you agree with him then take a knee at your job and see what happens. There are too many people claiming their parents are toxic simply for holding a different opinion. When their parents are gone, they will truly hate themselves.

One of my problems with Cancel Culture is they have no forgiveness and do not allow for growth. They claim there should be consequences, but they just destroy anyone they disagree with even if it is something said years ago. Of course, they would not want that to happen to them. By the way, off topic, the saying, “The customer is always right,’ simply means you have to sell what the customer wants.”

Now I am going to talk about some stuffs we are not allowed to talk about, and it pertains to women. I have worked retail, restaurants and grocery store and the most privileged, rudest customers are usually females. Many seem to be nasty to minimum wage workers. Here are some of my life experiences with females, not all inclusive. I failed third grade because the female teacher claimed I was too short. The same year there was a female teacher who made all the boys stand next to a wall before class as punishment. I would get into trouble for dumb stuff during lunch such as rubbing my forehead by female teachers. I mentioned in my YouTube videos about high school already. I was at the beach talking to my 14yr old female cousin and a female starred at us as if I was some creep which scared my cousin. At the mall a female claimed to her daughter I made her nervous as they were blocking an isle and I was just looking at books. Please notice this is not all women. Also remember there are no men’s shelter. So, if a man loses his home or leaves an abusive wife he is screwed.

Finally, no company is WOKE. They are doing what they can to increase profits. They will do one thing in the United States or other predominately white nation as they exploit a third world nation. They give money to both sides of the political spectrum, and they can destroy a politician by not giving them money. They are not on your side and they exploit their workers while claiming to be WOKE.

book reviews
Like

About the Creator

Ferrari King

I am Ferrari King and I enjoy writing short stories and playing games, BS in Molecular Biology. My other hobbies are working out, MMA and reading. Here is my wonderful LinkTree you should check for all links: https://linktr.ee/ferrariking

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.