Education logo

Professional Teacher Certificate Program Journey

Professional Education Course at the University of Santo Tomas (UST)

By Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.Published 2 years ago 5 min read
1

When I had the chance to further my education, I seized the opportunity to enroll in the University of Santo Tomas, one of the most esteemed institutions in the Philippines (UST).

I paid for my additional 18 professional education units out of the money I make from my employment by enrolling in them myself.

BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE PROGRAM

The Teacher Certificate Program is a comprehensive 18-unit certificate program that provides a good theoretical basis in professional education reinforced by outcomes-based practice. It is a program that has been specially created for graduates, professionals, or members of the business community who have not studied education but wish to pursue a teaching career in higher education by fusing their subject-matter expertise with pedagogical tools and technologically enhanced teaching and learning methods.

The following courses are included in the program: The Teaching Profession, Teaching Principles, Child and Adolescent Development, Curriculum Development, Educational Technology, and Assessment of Student Learning.

REQUIREMENTS

I turned in all of these prerequisites to the college of education.

  1. Fully-accomplished application form
  2. Letter of intent, two copies
  3. Photocopy of undergraduate Transcript of Records (TOR) - For non-UST graduates, prepare an original copy of TOR for admission purposes
  4. Good Moral Character/Recommendation Letter from current employer
  5. 2x2 picture, one piece

THE APPLICATION

AT SCHOOL

On July 20, 2017, I sent a letter of intent to the Dean of the College of Education, expressing my genuine interest in being a part of their prestigious Teacher Certificate Program at their reputable institution. I respectfully request that his good office enable me to apply for TCP because the continuation of my studies is extremely beneficial to my family, especially given our financial position. Being a student at the University of Santo Tomas is an incredible honor, and I am confident that it will help me reach my goals. In exchange, I do everything in my power to maintain the academic standing required to further promote both the program's academic brilliance and the integral formation championed by the university. I believe that attending their institution would allow me to learn more about my chosen field and polish my talents.

Fortunately, Dr. De Guzman accepted me during our one-on-one interview in his office at the Albertus Magnus Building's College of Education.

AT WORK

If you are a working student pursuing additional education, the most difficult difficulties you will confront are time and finances. The working student who is taking the assessment is hard working Monday through Friday and taking classes on the weekends. The deadline for turning in paperwork at work is a pressing issue. Your hectic schedule prevents you from studying any longer. In my instance, I use my break time to study in order to fairly combat this. After eating lunch, I decided not to relax but rather set aside that time to focus till the end of the break. Due to traffic, I won't get to the hotel until after 8:00 pm in the evening. I set aside 20–30 minutes of study before heading to sleep.

In fact, I drafted a letter telling our VP of Operations about the scheme. I would like to add more time to my work schedule every Monday through Thursday, and I am requesting his kind approval. Luckily he agreed and approved my request.

MYSELF

I am enthusiastic to finish my TCP and will continue to serve as a teacher, preparing students for the world of work and their individual jobs. As an educator, I want to build and dismantle a scaffold that will act as a temporary structure until the learner fulfills the requirement. I will uphold the integrity and accountability of the profession. Promotes a respectful atmosphere for all students in the classroom. Create and uphold uniform expectations for students' conduct.

ENROLLED SUBJECTS

On August 3, 2017, I began my first semester.

2017-2018 1st Semester

Code Descriptive Title of Subject

EDUC 230 The Teaching Profession

EDUC 206A Principles of Teaching 1

EDUC 231 Child & Adolescent Development

I enrolled for my 2nd semester on January 13, 2018.

2018-2019 2nd Semester

Code Descriptive Title of Subject

EDUC 205 Educational Technology

EDUC 208 Curriculum Development

EDUC 232 Assessment of Learning

One unit of credit is one hour of lecture or recitation or three hours of laboratory, drafting, or shop work each week for the period of a complete semester.

OUR PROFESSORS

With Prof. Allan B. de Guzman, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Education

Lecturer, The Teaching Profession & Curriculum Development

With Asst. Prof. Mary Christie D. Que, MS, LPT

Dean, College of Fine Arts and Design

With Assoc. Prof. Andres Julio V. Santiago, Jr., PhD

Lecturer, Principles of Teaching 1

With Ms. Katherine T. Chua

Lecturer, Child & Adolescent Development

With Ms. Maria Mercedes C. Buendia, M.A.

Lecturer, Educational Technology

During the 2018 Teacher Education Colloquy entitled “Cross-Cultural Multiple Case Studies on Online Collaborative Learning” held at the Medicine Auditorium, St. Martin de Porres Building, University of Santo Tomas, España, Manila, Philippines.

Dinner date with TCP5 Family at Buffet 101 Magnolia. Level 2, Robinsons Magnolia, Aurora Blvd, Corner Doña Hemady St, Quezon City, 1111 Metro Manila.

CLASS PICTURES

AT UST LETTER

TCP 5 CHRISTMAS PARTY

RANDOM PHOTOS INSIDE THE CAMPUS

RANDOM PHOTOS OUTSIDE THE CAMPUS

SOLEMN INVESTITURE (GRADUATION)

On May 26, 2018, we had our graduation rehearsal, but I was unable to attend since I had to take my entrance exam at the Graduate School of the Polytechnic University of the Philippines.

This is the start of my journey in my Master's Degree. Master of Science in Engneering.

In the academic year 2017-2018, I successfully finished the 18-unit Professional Education Courses required for a Teacher Certificate Program (TCP) offered by the College of Education, allowing me to qualify for the Board Licensure Examinations for Teachers (BLEPT).

On the 9th of June, two thousand and eighteen, I received my diploma at the Quadricentennial Pavilion, University of Santo Tomas, Manila, Philippines, during the Solemn Investiture.

Graduation during the Solemn Investiture at the Quadricentennial Pavilion, University of Santo Tomas, Manila, Philippines.

Like what you read?

Don't forget to please subscribe and like my story.

Thank you so much.

collegecoursesdegreehigh schoolstemstudentteacher
1

About the Creator

Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.

.Professional Member of the Mechatronics and Robotics Society of the Philippines

.Certified Documented Information Controller with TUV Rheinland Qualifications

.Master of Science in Engineering (on-going) with Professional Teacher Certificate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.