Education logo

Passing the CPA

What is some advice you would give to future CPA Candidates with an accounting degree for when they are studying and/or taking their CPA exams?

By Evelyn JohnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I can't believe I am finally saying this, but I am done! This was a very bumpy ride, but I got to the finish line. If I were to give a piece of advice to those who are about to embark this journey, I would say that you do not need to remember everything, as well as don't give up.

Little back story about me. While in college, I was a straight-A student. I graduated top of my class and finished my college career with two degrees and many awards. After working so hard in college I thought that I would be in a somewhat advantageous position when it came to the CPA exam. I approached it the same way I approached my college classes: lectures, then readying the book and taking notes, then doing the exercising and trying not to miss anything. Well, I was wrong on everything.

It took me 18 months to pass the CPA exam, I failed FAR 3 times, BEC and REG once and I only passed AUD at the first try. My advice for you is to never give up and take it one step at a time, because while knowing the materials is one of the keys to success, your mindset when you walk in is what is going to make a difference. I was ready to give up, but I had already paid for some sections, so I decided to give it a try anyways. And then I passed one. And then I failed the next one and got fed up, so I spent multiple hours after work just going over multiple-choice questions for two weeks and then I took that section again. Two weeks later I found out I passed. So I moved on to the next one, I read a summary to the materials - reading the entire book and watching the lectures didn't work for me - and then I went over multiple choice questions until my scores in the different Blueprints were 75 or higher. Then I took the test and passed. The last exam was FAR, which I had already failed 3 times in 2019. I was fed up with these exams and with the CPA materials software, so I obsessively studied, and I walked into the exam with the "I am never doing this again" attitude. And then I passed.

Also, I am fully aware this probably didn't play any role into my success, but I noticed a pattern between an outfit and passing scores so I wore the same outfit every time I took the exam and I ended up passing. Pretty sure it was just a coincidence and I am also pretty sure I was tricking myself into thinking the outfit was lucky. But at the same time, I never took phycology as an elective so I could be totally wrong, and the outfit was, as a matter of fact, my lucky outfit.

The CPA exam is a mind game that will test your desire to add those three letters after your name, but trust me when I tell you that receiving the welcome letter, as well as seeing the “no credit / attended” become a “credit” are one of the best moments I’ve lived. So, if you find any similarities between my story and yours, please don’t give up. There is no right way to approach the exam. If the expensive course provider’s methods do not work for you, don’t me afraid to purchase additional material or to subscribe to those monthly cheaper providers. This is your journey and you should feel free to approach it in any way that will get you to the finish line.

student
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.