Education logo

Part Two

WE DID IT!

By Bailee HollifieldPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

In my previous post, I talked about how nervous I was to finish out my clinical portion of school. I talked about being excited for my future, and how much I loved surgery. I guess I didn't realize what I had gotten myself into. Don't get me wrong, I am excited for my career, and I do love surgery. I just didn't understand how difficult it was until I started my second rotation at Deaconess Hospital in Evansville, IN.

I started there in January, and I immediately noticed a change. From Good Samaritan to Deaconess, it's a whole other ball field. They are a Level I Trauma Center, and one of the toughest hospitals I have ever seen. I tried my hardest to learn as much as I could, while staying out of the way of the employees. I didn't have a hard time with the surgeons so much as the surgical technologists and nurses. They didn't want to teach me. I didn't understand why.

It was getting to the point of not caring, and not wanting to even come in the next day. I had to push myself even harder than before just to get out of bed. There were times I wanted to say "screw it," and quit. However, I knew that if I did that, I would regret it. I would let down my family who had supported me the whole way, I would be wasting money, but most importantly I would be depriving myself of great potential. So I pushed back harder. I dug deeper into my schoolwork, and I made it every day to the hospital, even if I didn't want to.

Now, here I am. I am officially a college graduate, as of May fourth, with an Associate in Science. On May ninth, I was pinned as a Surgical Technologist. I did it.

On May 14, 2019, I took my Boards Exam for Surgical Technology. I prepared for a week for this test. Studying for hours. I was prepared, or so I thought. I sat down in the chair in front of a computer, palms were sweating. We were told that we have three hours to complete the exam.

*45 minutes later

"I'm done. I had no idea what that was. I didn't study for ANY of that. I didn't pass, I failed. I'm done. Looks like I'm going to have to be a waitress for the rest of my life." ( a little dramatic, but hey. I was stressed out okay).

Then 8 days later, I receive this text.

The most EXCITING NEWS I've heard

What??? I passed???? A huge relief rolled off of my shoulders. Now I can finally start my career!

I started applying to the surrounding hospitals, and I caught one! Good Samaritan in Vincennes had a recent opening, and I was a fit. They called me in for two interviews, and said I would get a call in a week. I should start next week as a Certified Surgical Technologist working on the main surgery department floor.

I'm going to give it my all, and work my butt off to make some money. I've earned my title, and I am going to go far in life if I keep pushing myself to do better. I can do this.

"I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me" Philippians 4:13.

degree
Like

About the Creator

Bailee Hollifield

21 years old / CST / writing to shed off steam / dating my best friend of 3 years

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.