Education logo

Onsego helps people get ahead in life

Getting your GED really helps

By Gail RingPublished 12 months ago 5 min read
Like

Some people get their GED and continue to have brilliant careers, such as Professor Carol Swain (Vanderbilt University). In the video, she talks about the remarkable journey that took her from a teenage mother and high school dropout to a university professor.

Dr. Carol Swain’s remarkable life experiences have made her a powerful and credible force for change in the contemporary political and social climate.

But not all of us need to be professors to achieve a meaningful and rewarding career and life. Dr. Swain's achievements are extraordinary and fantastic, but earning a GED will also have a positive influence on many young people's lives.

As I said in earlier posts, I am a proud GED graduate. I can't say enough how important it is to get a GED if something occurred in your early life that prevented you from completing your regular high school curriculum.

Let's take a look at how earning a GED positively influenced the lives of two young ladies that told me about their experiences with the online GED prep course created by Onsego.

What's also great about Onsego is that the course includes a number of free extras, such as a motivational course and a highly effective GED calculator course (a must-do for students struggling with math), and four vouchers for the GED Ready official practice tests (a $28 value) are included as well.

Onsego offers one of the most affordable, yet super comprehensive GED prep courses available. Their 6-month subscription program costs only $79 and all the bonuses are included in that price!

Onsego's GED prep course is recognized by GED Testing Service as being 100 percent aligned with the latest edition of the GED test. Read these two stories of students who used Onsego GED Prep to get ready for the exam.

Julia

Julia W. is a 29-year-old single mom from California who's working full-time. It helped her get ahead big time! She said it was absolutely worth getting her GED diploma.

When she started working toward her GED with Onsego, she was busy with her life and work. She enjoyed her work, but she wanted a better job and earn more. "I wanted security for my daughter, too," Julia explains. "A little security. My pinnacle of success was just to become a proud GED graduate in a year."

Julia followed Onsego's online prep program and signed up for reminders once a week so she could still take care of all the necessary stuff. But instead of watching TV series, she spent 1 hour on Friday evenings watching 3-4 prep videos and taking the accompanying short practice tests.

Soon enough, she started seeing results, the tests seemed to become more straightforward, and she could watch 5-6 videos during her hour of studying. Small steps summed up, and after 4.5 months, she knew she was ready for the GED exam.

For the following two weeks, she took practice tests, and then she took the final "real" exam. Julia passed the four tests of the GED exam, and she feels more secure at work. "I learned something else; now I know that I can achieve my goals if I set my priorities right.

Sarah

Sarah K. used Onsego's GED program to secure her GED diploma stress-free in 3 months. Here's how she did it:

"Earlier this year, my former boss referred me to a small company looking for a receptionist. I got a call from the company's manager to schedule an interview. In that same conversation, she asked if I had a high school or GED diploma.

I knew I couldn't lie, so I said no, but I'm working on it and will have my GED diploma in 2 months. That's what I thought about how long a GED course would be. Later that week, I had the job interview. The HR manager asked me to clarify more about my education, and she said she was fine with it.

I told the HR manager again that I would complete the GED exam within two months and a few hours later, she called to offer me the job. It was nice, but now I was under pressure, and I was looking for a magical way to get my diploma. I even considered buying it online, but after thinking about it for a minute, I knew this was a foolish idea.

So I took the Onsego online GED program that includes video lessons of 2-4 minutes, and then there is a 2-question test, and you can read what was spoken in the video.

Every GED subject is divided into smaller chapters with video lessons, and there is also a test related to the material learned in a module. It was hard for a week, and I wouldn't say I liked learning at all, but it got better. I got a feeling of accomplishment every time I finished a small test.

Sure enough, I was ready in 2.5 months. I took a bunch of GED practice tests and passed them every time.

So, I signed up for the GED exam; I took two tests per day and was successful on all four of them!

I emailed my boss, informing her of my GED diploma. Within minutes, she wrote back, saying she had always believed in my capacities."

Let's break down how Sarah and Julia got such massive results:

They knew what traps to avoid, like not buying a fake GED. Often, we're so eager to get the job that we are ready to buy a "diploma" ... and rob ourselves. If you've done your homework, you'll know there is no magic solution.

They were motivated and confident. Both women knew what was needed to do.

They chose a set of proven tools. Online GED programs are an easy way to start and learn. Thousands of students have earned their GED diploma stress-free. Even if you don't have a computer at home, you can always go to the library. Take control.

They stuck to their routine. Starting a new schedule is complex; many people don't follow the plan. They were motivated and kept learning.

They took many GED practice tests before the actual exam. When you are well-prepared and know what to say, you gain power and control, and you're more likely to succeed.

You've now already learned some of the secrets of getting the GED diploma stress-free.

Onsego delivers online learning materials in the form of video classes and GED practice tests all to help you with your GED education.

Do you feel that you're not good at learning?

Don't worry; you are not alone. Many people who have been out of school for some time have the same feeling. And also, keep in mind that when you have earned a GED, there's still the option, if you want, to earn a high school diploma through an adult high school.

There isn't that much difference between a high school degree and a GED when getting a job or going to college, but a high school diploma is preferred when enlisting in the armed forces.

But if you are a student looking to earn your GED, for now, focus on the first step: start to learn and adopt a new routine. I'm pretty sure that, after a while, you'll get the hang of it and that you'll see some fantastic progress.

It's worth it; the rewards can be enormous: further education, a better job, a better life.

Nowadays, GED testing is offered online and in traditional testing centers, so it's easier to accommodate the test date, even if you are a very busy person or live in a remote area.

courses
Like

About the Creator

Gail Ring

I'm of German/Irish descent and very interested in how these nations have influenced life and the people in the U.S. I'm a GED graduate writing also about education and its challenges.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.