Education logo

Nigerian Actress, Sola Sobowale Denies Alleged Arrest, Death Sentence For Drug Trafficking In Saudi Arabia

The 58-year-old actress debunked the claim during a live chat on the ‘Teju Baby Face Show’ on Tuesday, stating that she had never visited Saudi Arabia.

By Agozie OnyibaPublished 17 days ago 3 min read
Like

Veteran Nollywood star, Sola Sobowale, has brushed off rumors of her arrest and demise in Saudi Arabia over drug trafficking allegations.

The 58-year-old actress addressed the rumors during a live chat on the ‘Teju Baby Face Show’ on Tuesday.

Sola Sobowale recalled how negative reports surfaced when she moved from Nigeria to the United Kingdom, including false claims that she had been killed in Saudi Arabia for drug offenses. She emphasized that such rumors didn't faze her, asserting her peace with God.

The actress also clarified reports about her working at her sister Kike Oyelami's London restaurant, noting that while she occasionally assisted, she wasn't employed there as claimed.

Sola Sobowale highlighted the most hurtful lie: being accused of drug trafficking in Saudi Arabia, where she humorously remarked she'd never been and didn't know its location on the map.

The ‘King of Boys’ lead stressed the significance of parental involvement in child-rearing, crediting her upbringing by devoted parents for her values.

She disclosed putting her career on hold to raise her children, appreciating God's blessings despite adverse publicity.

Sola Sobowale humorously recounted the disbelief upon her return to Nigeria following false reports of her demise in Saudi Arabia.

The acclaimed actress reminisced about being wrongly portrayed as a cleaner in the UK, underscoring her return to prominence in Nollywood with roles in 'The Wedding Party' and 'King of Boys' series.

In 2022, she ventured into Bollywood with a role in an upcoming film and continued her success with movies like 'Anikulapo' in 2023.

“So, I go there anytime I’m off work. I make eba, pound yam and help my sister to serve food. They saw me. They wrote ‘Sola Sobowale now sells eba’.

“They said they killed me in Saudi Arabia that I carried cocaine. They got me arrested and there, they amputated my leg, my hand, and I said to them that I’m a star in Nigeria. And because of that, I said they should kill me and they did.”

During the live interview, she mentioned that it would be worthwhile if Nigerian women realised the need to spend more time with their kids. She boasted that she was well raised by her parents to know that she should not engage in drug trafficking as reported by some Nigerian media organisations.

“So, I go there anytime I’m off work. I make eba, pound yam and help my sister to serve food. They saw me. They wrote ‘Sola Sobowale now sells eba’.

“They said they killed me in Saudi Arabia that I carried cocaine. They got me arrested and there, they amputated my leg, my hand, and I said to them that I’m a star in Nigeria. And because of that, I said they should kill me and they did.”

During the live interview, she mentioned that it would be worthwhile if Nigerian women realised the need to spend more time with their kids. She boasted that she was well raised by her parents to know that she should not engage in drug trafficking as reported by some Nigerian media organisations.

“So, I go there anytime I’m off work. I make eba, pound yam and help my sister to serve food. They saw me. They wrote ‘Sola Sobowale now sells eba’.

“They said they killed me in Saudi Arabia that I carried cocaine. They got me arrested and there, they amputated my leg, my hand, and I said to them that I’m a star in Nigeria. And because of that, I said they should kill me and they did.”

During the live interview, she mentioned that it would be worthwhile if Nigerian women realised the need to spend more time with their kids. She boasted that she was well raised by her parents to know that she should not engage in drug trafficking as reported by some Nigerian media organisations.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.