Education logo

Mystic Healer

Curandera

By The Vibe Podcast Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
2
Anah-ni (Curandera - Healer) via Mystic Healer Stories.com

Seems like the world has gone through a lot within the last two-three years. Actually, it has been a lot longer than that... I am part of a community that says that the Indigenous people from the Caribbean were never extinct... we are in fact still here!

We are still on the islands, still in South America and even in the States!

When Christopher Columbus arrived on the Island of Puerto Rico in 1493, he and members of his voyage to the "New World" slaughtered, captured and enslaved my Ancestors. Our history and culture were nearly wiped out and this is the generation that our Ancestors predicted would come back on their behalf.

Now that we have a celebrity on board, this story will not sound so crazy.

John Leguizamo recently visited ancestral land in Utuado, Puerto Rico.

In his documentary "Leguizamo does Puerto Rico." he says what we have been saying all along, our land is sacred, our history is sacred, and we should never ever forget it.

Puerto Rico is a commonwealth of the United States, making the Indigenous people actually Native American...

Are you surprised??

I am not, I've been saying this for over two years now and I even have a book club on Facebook dedicated to this topic!

Check out the Taino Book Club! We are up to 457 members strong!

Taino- is a term used to describe our ancestors, means good people. My Ancestors are the Arawak people, indigenous to the Islands, Caribbean, Greater Antilles, South America and even Florida in the United States.

Thus, the term I have been saying... "Native is Native."

The book club has grown beautifully, we now have a celebrity on board... who knows what the future holds!

I am happy sharing what I learn along the way, and I have been truly inspired by the folks on the book club!

Jose Martinez is an Author and creator of, Mystic Healer Stories.com!

This is a great website for those of us who are into our Indigenous history & culture. I am very intrigued and inspired by his interpretation of Anah-ni, Taino Warrior and Healer or Curandera in Spanish.

Curandera- A healer who uses folk remedies.

Curandera

I have referred to myself as a Curandera, Healer, Shaman, Medicine Woman.

Mystic Healer Stories

The Author for the book; Mystic Healer- Curandera was born on the island in Ponce, Puerto Rico.

The book was inspired by his grandmother; Goyita La Curandera.

Jose's grandmother was from Jayuya, and he grew up listening to stories about the Tainos.

Like my parents, Jose Martinez migrated to the states at a very young age, but very much like me... moved back and forth.

The story of our life is Puerto Rico, New York, Florida... very much like our ancestors, they travelled a lot!

Mr. Martinez attended Delaware State College & Saint Joseph University, also served our country in Vietnam, and is now retired.

Jose and his wife live happily retired and sharing our Ancestors stories was something he just had to do... again, this is the time our Ancestors predicted.

Collectively we have all gotten a wake-up call and we are all on board in correcting history.

We like to do so in sharing stories, songs, dance, remedies and we live in peace as a result.

Sharing stories is a hobby for the Author as he is enjoying his retired life and I would say rightfully so!

No need to rush the Arts, and after all of his service to this country, I would say "cojelo con take it easy" Spanglish for "take it easy."

This is a topic we will be revisiting in my writings and podcasting.

I will leave this story with a question...

Who was Anah-ni??

travelteacherstudentinterviewbook reviews
2

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.