Education logo

My USA embassy experience

My travel experience.

By Olalekan AdeekoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

At every point in time in a man's life, we tend to be a part of three different experiences, which are the good, bad, and ugly. It is almost certain that 95% of humans have all gone through these experiences. And if you have not, yours is around the corner, it's winking at you, and the truth is you don't really need to be the one to orchestrate the experience you might and will just find yourself in it but as for me i orchestrated it and i found myself in it twice.

A couple of years back from the time this was published i finally listened to myself and i took out the bold step of seeking education abroad. At that time i had a lot of countries in mind but then my mind, soul, and body all keep wanting me to go to the United States of America. I decided to give it a trial, i started applying to various schools, at least five different schools, the likes of Southwest Minnesota University, Park University, University of Idaho, Southern Arkansas University, and the last one. I started getting replies after few weeks and of course, it was during the admissions period, Fall Semester, to be precise.

My admission packs were mailed directly to me in Nigeria and delivered to my doorstep, i was really feeling like a king now and i started smelling my packs and having a sense of how each University looks like, it felt as if i was in the school environment already, and this happens each time i get the admission packs of the different schools i applied to. I always carefully and gently open each package to behold what it has for me in some i saw an admission certificate, before the original admission letter, and in the other, a sticker of the school groups, the most amazing experience was the school pack i opened that has a ready-made SIM CARD, in it, i was told to give my family members the number because that will be my temporary number whenever i get to the USA. The card of course has got some credit on it and i was happy just staring at it and just imagining the sim card inserted inside my phone. Each day when i wake up i feel a sense of fulfillment and aura of the United States of America. Little did i know that i was just playing all in my imagination.

The courses i filled in each application were either Computer Science or Cyber Security. The days went by and i started my visa processing and documentation, and that i single-handedly did it myself. My first interview was on the 13th of May. And i could remember waking up as early as possible to meet up with my appointment because i had an appointment for 7:15 AM in the morning, after all, checks i was finally standing in front of the Visa Officer (VO) as called, and there he was asking me all the questions on earth, which was normal until he asked if i was married and had kids? I was astonished at the sound of that question, i am planning to go for my bachelor's because i want a good quality education from the number one World power country and you are asking me if i was married and had kids, as expected my answer was a no.

I didn't give up, i decided probably he wasn't the one God had potioned to get my Visa approved, so i applied again, and this time it was around June. I passed all checks and was in front of the VO again and he asked me all questions which i answered properly because i had already prepared for what was coming and he kept mute and looked at me for about 3 to 4 minutes and he asked again, are you married and do you have kids? In my head, i was like what is this again, the same determinant again. I turned with my heavy legs and i decided to take a break.

That experience at the embassy will forever stick to my head, and i hope i decide to try out the American Embassy once again. I am sure i would be approved this time and you might want to ask if i am now married and i will reply, as usual, NO, i am not, but then i would be entering on a different note this time.

I am not giving up and i hope someone reading this would help make that dream come true.

travel
1

About the Creator

Olalekan Adeeko

Olalekan Adeeko is an author, podcaster, public speaker, and he advocates for gender equality.

He loves traveling, and meeting people.

He is the author of the best-selling book "Success is free; only if you are ready to pay the price."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.