Education logo

My University Drop Out Story

How I didn't have a breakdown

By Harrison BoycePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
'the moon is tired too' - illustration by me

THE START

Hi. This is my uni drop out story. The past 6 months have been pretty interesting to say the least. I started uni, quit uni, moved house, gained a pet and thats the tip of the ice-berg. I decided to apply for a Fashion Promotions Course and as most uni students start off was super excited to finally be studying something that you are well and truly passionate about. i went through interviews and built a portfolio a larger than needed. no genuinely i couldn't carry my portfolio to the interview which was on the 5th floor. who holds interviews on the 5th floor... evil.

So fast forward i get a conditional offer which was lush. Me and a couple mates get a house share and away i go. it's uni time bitches. I quit my job as a supervisor at the local lush and start as a sales instead so i can drop my hours. 'Big mistake... huge'.

THE MIDDLE

At the start i was confused. All the things everyone was telling me i would be excited about i really was not. freshers came and went. my first module came and went i even got a first in it which i was super proud of (a first is a top mark if you are not familiar with the marking system). This first module we worked with the local shopping centre to create a campaign which would help celebrate their 10th birthday. i tried to take an artistic approach to it getting film shots of models and created a competition to get the public involved. This is where it all went downhill. I decided to talk to my lecturer about how i was feeling about the course. My lecturer was lush and tried her hardest to help me and she really did... for a month.

THE END

So after a few months of really trying to get engaged i realise this course is really not for me. AND THATS OK. it really affected my mental health dropping out, i felt as though i was just giving up but that is not true. Now i have done it i can see how anxiety can force you to do something you really do not want to. i wanted to write this because i feel like there is such a massive stigma behind dropping out of uni i've had family friends ask me why and when i reply with the course des not motivate me somehow this can translate to i couldn't give two shits. yes i am in debt, yes i am in a house share i can't afford but i have started doing things i love. selling my art work. seeing my cat more. waking up not feeling dread. i actually feel okay. basically this whole rambling story has been written because i hope it gets to someone who is in the same situation i was in. It's ok to make the wrong decision it is how you handle it, thats the really important part.

So to all my uni drop outs i got you and to the future drop outs good luck you are not lazy, you are not stupid you are making moves in the direction you want to take your life.

be good to yourself.

college
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.