Education logo

My Personal Philosophy of Education

From an Aspiring Educator

By Rachel SchickPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
2

My personal philosophy of education is comprised of essential ideals that I believe an effective teacher should possess. Every single child on this earth is different, so how can I assume that a simple lecture is enough for my students? John Dewey professed about teaching to the whole child; that is just one little piece that I think makes an effective teacher. By this I mean that my role as a teacher is to adjust to the individual child and teach to their learning style and their needs. To assist in doing this, the constructivist approach and direct instruction will be actively involved in my classroom. The role of administration and the students’ parents is to be the support system of the students; without an adequate support system, the child will struggle more in classes.

I think parents should be as involved as possible in their child’s education, it is not just a job left to the teachers. Absolutely every child is capable of learning, and it is my job to be a warm demander, a friend, and a coach standing by the side of my students, giving them the right tools to learn. Learners and teachers create the learning environment, it is not just a place of contribution from the teacher; it is a collaborative setting. Not only this, but I believe all students are naturally curious and we should avoid the banking concept of education, of simply depositing knowledge; we need to fuel their curiosity. I might have high expectations for myself as an educator, but knowledge, to me, encompasses basic skills, moral development, and open-mindedness. I believe that the purpose of education is so much more than the standardized testing we are required to teach our students.

The purpose of education is to help mold the minds of the future. I am an imperfect person, but I chose this career path, this “life” path, to change the world. If I can ingrain into my students the importance of kindness, being humble and open-minded, then I will feel like I have done my job. Going more specifically into content, I will teach my students according to state requirements and I will teach beyond standardized tests... It may seem like a fantasy land, but my content in my classroom will be creative, tactile, and adaptive to the learner. All I expect from my students is to try and I will be by their side every step of the way, cheering them on. Children are already critical thinkers and problem solvers, they just need to utilize that aspect of their brain more frequently to enhance it. That is why my content will always involve a problem to solve or anything that really challenges my students and makes them think critically. My teaching method will also involve constant collaboration and cooperative grouping, a mixture of teacher-centered and learner-centered learning, tactile activities, music integration, technological integration, and some lecturing and worksheets. Incorporating these methods will make me an effective teacher, therefore helping me accomplish my goals.

My philosophy of education and my own self will both be constantly evolving as I finish college, start my career, and go throughout all of life. Being open to the inevitable, yet positive, development of something so important to me as a person is what promotes that I am a lifelong learner. I want to always be learning and the fact that I have never been more excited about anything in my life, helps show me that my philosophy and its development will absolutely enable me to continue to develop it professionally.

teacher
2

About the Creator

Rachel Schick

My name is Rachel Jean-Marie Schick and I am a 21 year old college student with a passion for writing. My dreams are to simply travel the world and write and write and write until I die.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.