Education logo

My experience with college away from Home

College in Santa Fe, NM

By Shasta ScottPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A series that began while taking classes at SFUAD in Spring 2016. Photo from 2018

I grew up moving throughout Texas. From Irving, Las Colinas, Valley Ranch, to the Colony, McKinney and Denton. The idea of going to school away from home was just a dream for a long time. I remember watching the Gilmore Girls television show and thinking how amazing it would be to grow up in a small town.

Going to college is what all your teachers, parents, friends of the family, and extended family, tell you is the next step to creating your future and pursuing your dreams. From my experience this is true, for the most part.

You can still gain knowledge for the career you want without having a college education. But, I can honestly say, without a doubt, that if I had not taken the opportunity to go to college in a different state than I called home, I would not have learned what I know.

That's not to say I wouldn't have learned something similar or gotten to learn to work with other materials and mediums, but it wouldn't have been the same people or the same surroundings. Santa Fe, NM was possibly the best place I could have gone to learn more about the arts. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of museums to explore, artists to meet, gallery openings, fine dining, shopping, and so much more.

Most tourists go to Santa Fe, NM for the change in the Asp trees, and after 2 years of watching them change from green to yellow to red, I understand why. If you are a nature enthusiast, there are trails and camping locations as you make your way to the top of the mountain. Once you reach the top, you can see over so much of the land. It's understandable why so much art is inspired and they call it "enchanted" on the welcome sign as you enter the state. It is magical and beautiful and if you love the small town lifestyle it's perfect.

If you crave the city life, there is a train that can take you to Albuquerque or if you or your friends have a car it's only about an hour away. Going to college can be scary as is, it's the first time most of us spend a significant time away from family and if you are leaving the state there are less chances of someone you know being there with you. (Although not impossible or unheard of) I wouldn't have traded that experience for anything in the world. Did I feel out of my element and like I didn't belong? Yes, sometimes. But, I feel like that around my own family when we can't seem to agree.

If there is one thing I can say, if you're feeling homesick, or miss your family, do something that would honor them. Do something that would make them proud. Call them or send them a neat photo of the things you are experiencing.

Culture shock was something I didn't expect to experience. Coming home for the winter or summer holiday's only to leave a month later to return to the campus to start the next semester of learning. I didn't expect that feeling of having to readjust to who I was or that I would feel any different at all. I also thought I would end up living there, but I was wrong. I also didn't realize the curveballs life would throw at me.

Explore, have fun, make friends, find people who share interests with you, all of these things have been said so many times to me by family and friends and mentors and teachers, and every single one of them is right. Do those things, while you're learning to become a teacher or a scientist or a museum curator or an artist. Write things down, take pictures, and videos, your memory later on in life will thank you for it.

Follow your dreams, even if they don't end up how you think they would.

college
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.