Education logo

Mocha

It is not a beverage!

By JoyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Teaching English has been a very educational journey for me. On any given day, I converse online with people from Brazil to Turkey to China to Sudan. Sharing some of the mind-opening stories that I encounter through teaching English as a Second Language (ESL) is a must.

During English conversation practice, my student from Yemen asked me if I drink Café Mocha. After responding that I sometimes do, he enlightened me that Mocha is not a beverage. It is the name of a city in Yemen.

Of course, I had never heard that before. I wonder if you have?! Anyhow, as it turns out, Mocha is the name of the seaport city along the Red Sea Coast in Yemen. The Mocha Sea Port is not too far from the Sea of Java. ‘Java’ reminds me of the Java Hut at my college. I never knew that Java, another word for coffee, is a location also. Yemen Coffee beans are exported through the Port of Mocha, Yemen. Coffee beans grown in Yemen have a distinctive flavor and are considered the best in the world.

The Mocha Sea Port was a vital coffee marketplace between the 15th and 18th centuries.

Remedius Prutky, a traveler and author, traveled through Mocha more than once and noted the French, English, Dutch, and Portuguese ships and factories in Mocha. Prutky also noted what is known as the lodging-house of Prophet Mohamed offering hundreds of accommodations rented out to all visitors. All were welcome without discriminating by religion or race.

Since we are talking about Yemen, here are some more interesting facts about the country.

Yemen is also called Felix Arabia. I have always noticed that not understanding why it was called Felix. Felix means happy. Yemen is referred to as the Happy Land because of its fertile soil and rain.

In the past, Yemen was famous for its Jewish Silversmiths. They were known for their excellent craftsmanship and produced fine jewelry.

The Khat plant is grown in Yemen. The people of Yemen widely use the plant and enjoy it. They chew the Khat plant in the afternoon as they believe it helps with the process of decision-making. The Khat plant is considered a narcotic which triggers excitement.

The city of Shibam in Yemen is referred to as the ‘Manhattan of the Desert’ as it is famous for its hundreds of mudbrick ancient high-rise buildings.

Socotra island in Yemen is known for its unique Dragon Blood trees. The tree is named so after its bright red resin. The unique appearance of the tree reminds me of the trees in Joshua tree, California, though they differ from one another. The Dragon Blood tree is shaped like an umbrella. The tree is rich with extensive medicinal value. It provides anti-inflammatory effects. It is used for curing wounds, diarrhea, eczema, and more. Parts of the tree are also used as incense, dye, body oil, toothpaste ingredient, and even varnish for violins, etc.

Sheba is a location mentioned in the Quran and the Bible. The ancient Kingdom of Sheba is in Yemen. It is also the home of the Queen of Sheba.

In the 1930s, the Islamic spiritual leader, Yahya Muhammad Hamid Ed-Din, who ruled Yemen, lived in Dar Al-Hajar palace. Dar Al-Hajar means the stone-house. This is because the palace is built into a rock. The Islamic leader was assassinated in 1948. Afterward, his palace became a museum. The museum is open to the public and can be visited today.

Wow, I feel so rich after learning from my Yemeni student and doing further research. All this while teaching English!

travel
2

About the Creator

Joy

Welcome! Here, I share some of the mind-opening stories that I learn from my international students through teaching English as a Second Language (ESL). I also share other writings. Thanks for stopping by and reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.