Education logo

Mixhome

Other kids feedback

By Brandon FonchaPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
Comfort of such kids

Growing up, my relationship with my stepmom had always been a bit strained. I never felt like we really connected, and I always had the sense that she didn't like me very much. But even with that background, what she did to me still came as a shock.

It all started when my dad and stepmom got into an argument about something trivial, and I happened to be in the room. I'll never forget the way her eyes bored into me as she turned to my dad and said, "You know, she's been lying to you about all sorts of things."

I was completely taken aback. I had no idea what she was talking about. My dad looked at both of us, clearly feeling uncomfortable.

"What do you mean?" he asked.

"Things," she replied, cryptically. "Stuff she's done. Things she's said." She looked pointedly at me. "You know what I mean."

I didn't. I was completely at a loss. And yet, even as I was stumbling to respond, I could see the doubt creeping into my dad's eyes.

"Is that true?" he asked me. "Have you been lying to me?"

I remember feeling like the rug had been pulled out from under me. I had no idea what to say. I started to protest, but the words wouldn't come. I kept trying to gather my thoughts, figure out what she might be accusing me of, but nothing made sense.

"She's just trying to stir up trouble," I managed to say finally. "I haven't done anything wrong."

But I could tell that my dad wasn't entirely convinced. He looked between us, clearly unsure of what to believe.

Things went on like that for a few days. My stepmom would drop little hints or make offhand comments about how I had changed, how I wasn't the same person I used to be, how I had secrets. My dad wavered back and forth, not sure what to believe.

I became increasingly frustrated and angry. I didn't understand why she was doing this to me. Had I done something to offend her? Was she just trying to cause trouble in my family? I racked my brain, trying to remember if I had said or done anything that could be construed as a lie, but nothing came to mind.

Finally, one evening, my dad sat me down to talk. He looked grave.

"Look, I don't know what's going on here," he said. "But your stepmother has said some things that have me concerned."

I felt a hot rush of anger and frustration. How could he believe her over me?

"Dad, I'm telling you, I haven't done anything wrong," I said, my voice shaking with emotion.

"I want to believe you," he said, placing a hand on my shoulder. "But I don't know who to trust."

We sat there in silence for a long time. I could feel the tension building between us. I knew that if I couldn't convince him of my innocence, things would never be the same.

Finally, I had an idea. I could tell him the truth about something that I had been keeping from him, and prove to him that I wasn't lying about everything.

I took a deep breath and began to talk. I told him about something that had happened to me a few weeks earlier, something that I had been too afraid to share. I could see the shock and pain in his eyes as he listened.

"Why didn't you tell me?" he asked when I finished.

"I was scared," I said honestly. "I didn't want you to be disappointed in me or think less of me."

He sat there for a moment, digesting what I had said.

"I believe you," he said finally. "I think I understand now what's really been going on here."

He explained that he had been feeling guilty about not spending enough time with me, and that he thought my stepmom was trying to drive a wedge between us. He apologized for not trusting me right away, and promised that we would work on our relationship.

In the end, things between my dad and me did improve. But I never forgot what my stepmom had done. I could never quite trust her after that, and I always wondered what her motivations were. But I learned a valuable lesson about family and trust, and that sometimes, it's the people you least expect who will let you down the most.

teacherstudentdegree
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.