Education logo

Male Role Models

The Power of Strong Men

By Logan RiderPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Love, Teach, Protect the 3 Principals for being the Constant that children need.

As I walk through the hallway that is filled with Grade 2 students all lined up for their Phy. Ed class I hear a very familiar excited voice right behind me."Hello Mr. Logan!" I turn around and their she was. Her big brown eyes filled with light and excitement, and very timid, and approval seeking smile. I make sure that I am several meters away so that I can pull down my mask and reciprocate the smile and validate her attention seeking expression. It takes time, work and consistently to build a strong positive connection with a child but when you finally do establish that bond its life changing. A year before all this I met her for the first time in Grade 1. There she was in the back of the class very quiet, very shy, very timid. One day she gets off her chair and approaches me. She does not speak a word does not crack a smile. She hands me her pencil and her sharpener. I know what she is asking for but she is too shy to say the words. So I begin sharpening her pencil. I tell her a joke to put her mind at ease. She cracks a very small smile. This pattern occurred everyday for two weeks. As everyday passed that smile got bigger and her eyes got wider with excitement. She would return to her seat turn around at me and start giggling. I knew from these reactions that I was finally making a connection with her. In time she began to speak and having conversations with me. At this point she was beginning to associate me with positive emotions. She began to get more comfortable speaking in class and raising her hand when she had a question. She was slowly starting to project her voice across the class. A huge progression from when I had to put my ear an inch from her face to hear her voice. She starting making friends joining in on games during recess and lunch. On the days she was too shy I would initiate a game with her and the other children. I would allow myself to slowly fade away into the background and this allowed facilitated her to establish a connection more with her peers then just with me. As the school year went on she improved. Now in Grade 2 she is blossoming. I always make a point to check in with her from time to time. Even if we do not see each other as much I always make sure to be her Constant. To be that Power Male Role Model when she needs it. When she throws up that Bat signal she knows The Batman is on the way.

teacher
1

About the Creator

Logan Rider

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.