Education logo

Make university the best four years of your life

Tips for keeping a good vibe throughout a stressful year

By RachelMorganPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Let's face it, there are times when school brings us all down. Whether it's a large assignment, trying to balance school and work, or exam time. Everyone feels stress and each individual deals with it in their own way. However, the self takes a big hit when it comes to stress.

Taking care of your mental and physical health is very important. Unfortunately this often gets put on the back burner staying up late to finish assignments and eating whatever food is quickest, not most nutritious.

Below is a list of tips that I have learned throughout my first three years of university on keeping yourself in good spirits. I've had my own struggles, so I wish to share these tips for others to benefit from the knowledge I have gained.

1. Don't back out on friends

When you go off to university, it is likely you will be quite far from your parents. Thus, it is crucial to develop a support network within your friends. Take the extra step to get to know your roommate. They may not be your best friend, but they will most likely be the person you spend the most time with. In my first year of university I got close with my residence roommate. Although we didn't stay very close in the years to come, she was a great support when I needed any advice or support during the year.

Another important tip is to say yes to your friends. If someone asks you to go out and do something, say yes! Obviously there are times when you have to do something else, but making sure you have an outing with friends at least once a week is good for keeping your mental health in check and for being an overall happier student.

2. Schedule your semester

When I find out my schedule at the beginning of every semester, the first thing I do is to write down the due dates of all assignments in my weekly planner. I find this is very useful in thinking ahead to plan out my semester.

I like my planner because each page is separated week by week. Therefore, I only have to worry about one week at a time. However, there are many types of planners you can use; daily planners, monthly calendars, etc.

In addition to knowing ahead of time when assignments are o, I find the planner useful to make sure I am participating in social activities. By looking at my planner, I can determine which times of th school year I will ahve the most free time and be able to make time to hang out with friends.

3. Don't be afraid of failure

One of the first papers I wrote in university I received a C on. This was a shocker to me being a straight-A student in high-school. I wanted to give up right then.

University is different from high-school. It is a chance for you to expand your knowledge in an area of interest. You should take the time to invest thought in your ideas. Every idea you have may not be successful, but you do not know unless you put it out there. If you stay safe you won't grow.

4. Make time for yourself

With a busy school schedule, friends, and potentially a part time job, it is hard to remember to take care of yourself. When I first started dating my boyfriend, I spent all my free time with him. I no longer had my alone time to unwind and do the things that make me happy.

Make sure you have a little bit of alone time every week. Whether it's a Saturday that you don't leave your room or just an hour before bed, remember you come first. And it's okay to treat yourself once in a while (I got a piercing!).

5. Don't lose sight of your goals

You might go into university not knowing what you want to do after, that's okay. Your goals for your future may change throughout your time in university, that's okay to. But make sure these decisions are coming from you. Listen to professors, family, friends, and mentors, but plan your life based on your own goals. You are the one who has to live it.

6. It's okay if it takes more than four years

For whatever reason, you may not graduate in four years. Maybe you were sick and missed too many classes. Maybe you changed your major. Maybe a full course load was just too much for you. Whatever your reasoning, if your undergrad takes you more than four years you have nothing to worry about. It does not make you any less smart or capable. It is actually a fairly common phenomenon.

Right now I am behind a credit and a half in my undergrad. In my first years at university it was very important to me that I graduated with my graduating class. Why was that so important to me? I'm not too sure. If I want to graduate in June 2021 I will have to take summer courses this year. I may do that, but if I don't, taking an extra semester to graduate is no big deal.

For anyone entering university or any current students who find themselves in a slump, I hope you find these tips helpful!

college
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.