Education logo

Literary Narrative

My Story of Learning How to Read

By Samantha GarciaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Literary Narrative
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

My experiences with literacy were not great. Before my school education, no one taught me to read. Let's start from the beginning... I can honestly say it probably started with just my mom and me. My mother was a stay-at-home mom, while my father was in the military service of being an Army man. I know my mother basically raised me alone most of my baby years. My father would even dare to come close to change a diaper. I remember playing videogames on the Nintendo 64 more than I recall ever reading. Of course, my mother didn't know the importance of reading to a young child since I was her first-born child. While caring for me and providing me with the basic needs of raising me, my mother would work her hardest cooking and cleaning while trying to balance her crafts.

Before I was even 5 years old, my mother had to worry about caring for two babies, chores, and her hobbies. So, when I officially started school, I went to school at B.H. Macon Elementary in Dallas, Texas. Little did I know at the time, that the city of Dallas was a horrible place to grow up. Especially in their schools, mainly because the teachers just do not care enough for the student’s education. The instructors there did not teach me how to read and write or at least did not know how to teach me. I learned my ABC’s and I learned simple words to write, but reading was very difficult for me. I had a little bit of dyslexic and I got confused with r's being n's, my m’s being w’s, my b’s being d’s, and vice a versa. Unfortunately for me, the faculty members didn’t have a way to help and teach me. In fact, while still attending B.H. Macon and being in the first grade there, the school board of education wanted to hold me back from going to second grade. WHY? Because my literary skills were not up par to grade level. As a result of not properly being taught to read correctly from the school, they had the audacity to try and hold me back.

Of course, my parents would have never let that happen. And I'm glad that they fought for me. They knew that with proper help that I would get better in learning my literary skills and be able to read and write in my education. So, we moved from Dallas to Royse City. In Royse City, my parents asked for help from the school. I got into a special class that taught me how to read and write. Not only was I in this literacy class, but I was also in a speech class. The teachers there gave me actual advice and hints on how to read and how to pronounce certain words. I seriously only had two years to learn how to read and write before I had to take the biggest test in my school-aged life, the TAKS test. I was so terrified that I would fail, that they to would try to hold me back a year. All for the reason that I was not taught properly in literacy. I didn’t have the advantage of learning how to read, like the other kids, due to my disability. I do kind of blame the teachers at B.H. Macon Elementary School for not knowing how to deal with my problem and I wonder why they didn’t know how to teach a dyslexic student. Or did they even care enough for me and my future? It’s crazy how just going to a different school and having teachers who actually care for you can change your life. If I would have stayed in Dallas, I would probably still be in high school right now and not in college yet. Heck, the bigger question is would I have even thought of going into college with a bad education? I don’t think so. I am glad that moving helped improved my literacy skills and discipline.

Reading and writing are important skills and tools for anybody to use. If you have the chance to start learning your children while they're young then you should start as soon as possible. And if you need some help or advice, ask for it! You should be able to consult a family member, a friend(s), or even a professional. You should know that there are people who are willing to help you and your child's education.

student
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Garcia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.