Education logo

Light up

The sky is gray and pale, and the birds leave the Lingering North. The fire clouds sank to that side of the campus.

By RuthValenciaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Light up
Photo by Dyu - Ha on Unsplash

The sky is gray and pale, and the birds leave the Lingering North. The fire clouds sank to that side of the campus.

It was my first day in school, the wind was colder than the wind, and the pine grass was sluggish in the wind. Small raindrops fell in the South Lake, smashing out a blister. The violet flowers were soaking wet, and dragonflies were hanging upside down on the backs of leaves. Faced with all this ignorance, I was wrapped in bewilderment by the cold wind, which gradually blurred. Who knows: will the first placement test make me panic?

To the classroom. I was in a busy mood under the superior mood of the city people. "Start the exam!" An unfamiliar voice carried through every part of the classroom. "The first time I started, I was so nervous that my hands were sweating and I slipped the water pen out of my hand. The first side of the book was already written and the second side was started. The cold breeze just passed through the chest: she can write hey! And write so fast. The kind of advantages of country people is infinitely reduced at this moment. I was in the mindset of doubting myself because I was not from the city. At that moment, my heart was ashes.

The heart that was pinching finally sank. As expected, my grades were not as good as the girls. I asked her, "How did you get your grades? I asked her, "How did you get such good grades?" I am still impressed by the way she laughed and did not say anything. Since then, when I entered the classroom, I would be secretly fighting with myself: I can't beat my classmates in the city, their grades are too good! The poor me also somehow pouted and the bright light in my heart went out.

The hot heart followed the warm clothes and followed the bell as I pushed through that gym class.

The company's main business is to provide a wide range of products and services to its customers. This did not affect me, who had long been indifferent. But just as I was sitting cross-legged, an elementary school classmate next to me ran over to encourage me: "You run so fast, you must be better than them, hurry up and compete!" She was so impassioned, that I hesitated for a moment. Then, in the atmosphere ignited by the boys in our class, I decided to compete.

The positive atmosphere was high and my feet stepped onto the starting line. Looking at the determined eyes of my classmates, I took my first step in a big way, and it was great. I kept pulling my stride, entered with the wind at my back, bathed in the sunshine, and won first place fiercely! At that moment, the sunlight gave a sheen to the furry hairs, while the breeze made them tremble. She makes a throaty sound when she laughs and stretches her neck out - yes, my face broke out in joy, almost at eye level with someone's forehead. It felt awesome to find myself! Because of this confidence, I was no longer afraid of the darkest night, and the light in my heart, engraved with "self", never went out.

That same summer, my mother came in depressed. She stopped working on recipes, and there was a dark cloud over the house every day.

"I have a parent-teacher conference today, I think my Mandarin is not good, always a bit of home talk, not atmospheric!" The first words my mother said when she entered the house woke me up.

I replied without walking away, "Isn't that quite distinctive?"

Her tone rose a few more points: "But my writing is not good either, at a glance you can tell that it is blind!"

I then seriously responded, "But you are good at cooking, you always love to study the food, and we praised, is not the cooking great?"

My mother skimmed her lips in thought for a moment, and without a word, she walked to the kitchen.

The next day, I got up and saw the same old mother who was making inventions again. She was humming a little song again, and the kitchen light was lit again.

So in fact, happiness is slowly surfacing in the fumbling between the city and the countryside. Why is the starry sky clear in the countryside? It is all lit up by the rustic painting style of the country people. And that pleasure of discovering the beauty of self is always lighting up those moments of lack of confidence for me.

The people who light up are like the most vivid blood on a rainy day.

student
Like

About the Creator

RuthValencia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.