Education logo

Life on Campus: Freshmen Year

Some advice on what to expect in college.

By Atticus GreysonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Marymount University Orientation Week

Your First Week

Welcome to college! Your parents have dropped you off, given their tearful goodbyes, and you've finally unpacked your belongings and met your roommate(s). Now what?

More than likely, there's an orientation to look forward to. These events might be huge, fan-fare celebrations, or they might be small and more informative, but I have found that even at a small school like mine, they're pretty enjoyable! Some schools might require them for freshmen or first-years, and some might make them optional. Regardless, I suggest going to your orientation! There's usually free goodies, and at the very least, you'' get a tour of your campus. You also get the chance to meet some neat people! I met someone during my orientation that's still my friend in my final semester of college!

Use this first week to get yourself really settled. If you have the time, I usually like to visit my classrooms just to scope out where they are, so I don't feel so overwhelmed when I finally have to go to them for class. I also like to try to introduce myself to new people in the first week of the semester- just finding people to sit near and say hi to is enough to find some new friends on campus!

Post-Orientation

Now that orientation is over and you have to go to your first class, it's easy to get swept up in anxiety and time-management problems. I think the first week of classes is the most important period of the semester- this is where you make changes to your schedule, switch majors (if you're early enough in your program), and make all your class friends! I try to befriend whoever I sit next to in class just so I have someone to rely on if I miss a day or need some study help!

Professors usually suggest buying textbooks before the semester starts, but as a pro-tip: don't. If you find out that you need to drop the class, or the professor hasn't mentioned it or used it within the first week, you've wasted money on it. I like to use the library for the first week, as most schools will hold a reserve copy of all textbooks for students- after that week, I decide whether or not I need to buy it. As a final-semester senior, I think I have bought four total books.

This first week is also the time to consider your personal schedule. Are you finding enough time to eat, sleep, study, and have free time? It's easy to start overworking yourself, as you don't notice the effects until you've already settled into the schedule. Make all the adjustments you need as soon as possible, and try to get settled in your routine so nothing falls off your radar. I think it's always easier to drop things than it is to add things to my routines, so starting early is better than scrambling to make one later.

Midterms

So, you're about halfway through the semester. This part is the most variable- some professors have midterms, some don't. Even then, midterms vary so much from professor to professor, as they all make their own. I think the first-year midterm week is the most cohesive, however, so be prepared for some big tests.

Another thing to keep an eye out for is midterm events on campus! My school does destress and meditation events, held by the wellness office. Other schools will have study sessions for courses, free campus entertainment, or more! Use anything you need at your disposal to get through this week.

One final consideration during midterm week is tutoring and study groups. This is also dependent on your college, as some colleges offer tutoring services for free and others charge for them, but if you can attend a tutoring session, I think it's always a great opportunity! (I might be biased, I used to be a tutor.)

Breaks

Unlike k-12, college has pretty long breaks. My siblings, who attend public high school in the US, get two days off for thanksgiving break. I get a week. My winter break is also about a month long. It's a nice refresh, but some professors aren't forgiving during these breaks. I try to maintain productivity and keep up with my projects and readings for classes. Most people head home, but if you need to, campuses tend to be open for campus residents during these breaks. Check with your resident services before anything!

Breaks are also a highly valuable time for resetting and taking a breather, especially in your freshman year. Enjoy your break! Spend some time with new friends, sleep in, or do something to relax that you might not have been able to do for a while.

Finals Week

I feel like finals week is like the first day of a zombie outbreak in an action movie. People are panicked. The campus is empty. Schedules change. Time no longer feels real.

Okay, I'm being dramatic. But expect things to feel weird this week. Some schools have designated finals schedules- that means, you're not following your normal class schedule anymore. My school will post this schedule pretty early in the semester, so I like to keep an eye out for it to know how to adjust my other schedules for that week. Keep an open line of communication if you find that there are any discrepancies in your schedule- the last thing you want is two finals scheduled for the same time.

Much like with midterms, campuses also tend to offer a variety of stress-relieving activities during finals week. Make use of them if you feel stressed! Take a breather, keep up with your studying, and you've got this! The most important thing to remember during finals week is to not panic. No matter what happens, you're coming back out on the other end and heading home for winter break. Enjoy your month off with no work, and get ready to restart for next semester.

This is pretty much the first semester of college broken down! Now go forth, and enjoy your college life!

college
1

About the Creator

Atticus Greyson

Hi there! I'm a hobby writer with a special interest in horror fiction, but I also write blog posts about college life and tips for academic success!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.