Education logo

Learning Disabilities (Part Two)

My Story About How I Am Living with Them to This Day

By Mac78321Published 5 years ago 4 min read
1

After being in a battle with my Learning Disabilities through out my education, at the end of the day I am doing what I love. I'm a musician, I'm a drummer for a band, and I write and produce different styles and genres of music. To me music has its own language, and I believe everyone hears music differently from everybody else. I also believe music can make people happy, and can help everyone in their day to day lives. I have been told that I hear music differently from students in the past.

I think by having Dyslexia I am able to have a more creative side of things. Whether that be music, editing, or doing magic. Not only can I be a huge geek and nerd when it comes to music, history, movies, comic books, trains. Another thing I forgot to mention, I also have stage fright. I don't like standing up in front of people, but I still preform with my bands. The point I'm trying to make in this paragraph is don't be too shy to aim big. If you want to do something then go ahead and do it. If there is something standing in your way. Push it to one side and do what you have to do. Don't let anyone or anything stand in your way of your dreams and hopes.

When I was having interviews or talking to my friends about my disabilities, I was always having trouble spelling.

When I was growing up I was always having trouble reading and writing. To this day I still see words upside down, and letters scattered around the place. I never let it bother me though. If you or anybody you know has any learning difficulties, make sure they get the help they need and keep an eye open for the symptoms. I've been tested and been given the results, I have Dyslexia, ADD and other ones I can't spell. I am also currently being tested for Autism. To this day, I never let my learning difficulties get to me. Right now, I am a musician, session musician, audio engineer, magician, and editor.

I will help anyone who is in the same position as me, if they need some help I can give them the help and advice they need. I know what it's like to be ignored when you have symptoms. I had the symptoms from a very early age, and they were ignored for the past twenty three years, and I have only just recently became aware of them. Not only do I have all of that, but I also have a stutter. So I tend to mess up my words a little. I also don't do well in social matters. I can't communicate well with other people, or look at someone in the eyes while talking to them. I also have stage fright. I'm fine when I'm in my bands, performing and all that. But standing in front of people, I can't handle it. Even with my family members I still can hold a conversation longer that two minuets.

Handwriting was always my weak spot.

My handwriting is terrible, other people can't read my handwriting. But the point is I can even read my own handwriting, but I also can't remember what it was I was writing.

The point I am trying to make here is, if you notice anyone having trouble with writing, spelling, or having difficulties in a social matter. Ask them because it will help them in the future, and the help they get will help them in their future too.

If you or anyone you know is being affected by learning difficulties, and feel like it's affecting your future, here is my word of advice for you.

Do what you love. Be what you want to be and also be who you want to be.

If you do what you love, you'll love what you do. That's my motto and I will tell each and everyone of you out there.

If you want to be an actor, you be the best actor you know you will be, If you want to be a basketball player, then you be the best basketball player you know you will be.

Never give up on your dreams and hopes.

Make a dream a reality.

Aim big.

Be positive.

Stay positive.

Aim big. Be positive. Stay positive

student
1

About the Creator

Mac78321

Musician, Producer (One man band), Sound engineer, YouTuber, Roadie, Manager. Magician, Editor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.