Education logo


Islam religion

By Ibrahim ashraf Published 7 months ago 4 min read

Islam is a major world religion with over 1.8 billion followers, making it the second-largest religion globally. It was founded by the Prophet Muhammad in the 7th century CE in the Arabian Peninsula. The teachings of Islam are based on the sacred text of the religion known as the Quran, which Muslims believe to be the word of God as revealed to Muhammad.

Key Beliefs:

1. Monotheism: Islam is a monotheistic religion, affirming the belief in one God, known as Allah. Muslims believe that Allah is the creator of the universe and that there is no deity worthy of worship except Allah.

2. Prophethood: Muslims believe that Muhammad is the final prophet in a long line of messengers sent by Allah to guide humanity. Other prophets include Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, and Jesus, among others.

3. Five Pillars of Islam: These are the five core practices that form the foundation of Muslim religious life:

a. Shahada: The declaration of faith, which states, "There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad is the messenger of Allah."

b. Salah: The ritual prayer performed five times a day facing the Kaaba in Mecca.

c. Zakat: The giving of alms or charity to those in need, typically calculated as a percentage of one's wealth.

d. Sawm: Fasting during the holy month of Ramadan from dawn to sunset.

e. Hajj: The pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca, which every able-bodied and financially capable Muslim is expected to undertake at least once in their lifetime.

4. Day of Judgment: Muslims believe in the concept of the afterlife and the Day of Judgment. They believe that after death, individuals will be resurrected and held accountable for their actions in this life. The righteous will be rewarded with eternal paradise, while the wicked will face punishment.

5. Moral and Ethical Code: Islam provides a comprehensive moral and ethical framework for Muslims to follow. It promotes virtues such as honesty, justice, kindness, compassion, humility, and respect for others. Muslims are also encouraged to avoid vices such as lying, stealing, cheating, greed, and arrogance.

6. Sharia: Sharia refers to Islamic law, which provides guidance on various aspects of life, including personal conduct, family matters, business transactions, and criminal justice. It is derived from the Quran, the sayings and actions of Prophet Muhammad (Hadith), consensus among scholars, and analogical reasoning.

Islamic Practices and Rituals:

Besides the Five Pillars, Muslims engage in various practices and rituals, including:

1. Friday Prayer: Muslims gather in mosques on Fridays to perform the congregational prayer known as Jumu'ah. It includes a sermon (khutbah) delivered by an imam.

2. Dietary Laws: Muslims follow specific dietary restrictions. They abstain from consuming pork, alcohol, and any food products containing pork by-products. They also adhere to the concept of halal (permissible) and avoid haram (forbidden) foods.

3. Circumcision: Male circumcision is a common practice among Muslims, although it predates Islam and is also practiced by other religious and cultural groups.

4. Tarawih Prayer: During the month of Ramadan, Muslims perform additional prayers called Tarawih. These are performed after the evening prayer and consist of reciting sections of the Quran.

5. Charity and Voluntary Acts: Muslims are encouraged to engage in acts of charity and to help those in need beyond the obligatory Zakat.

6. Personal Spiritual Practices: Muslims engage in personal acts of worship, such as supplication (dua), recitation of the Quran, seeking knowledge, and engaging in self-reflection and self-improvement.

Certainly! Here are four additional points about Islam:

1. Tawhid: Tawhid is the central concept in Islam that emphasizes the oneness of Allah. Muslims believe in the absolute unity and uniqueness of God, rejecting any notion of partners or associates with Him. This concept is deeply rooted in Islamic theology and shapes the understanding of God's attributes and relationship with creation.

2. Jihad: Jihad is a term often misunderstood. It means "struggle" or "striving" in Arabic. While it can refer to armed struggle in self-defense, the greater Jihad is considered an internal spiritual struggle to purify oneself and submit to the will of Allah. It encompasses efforts to overcome personal flaws, resist temptations, and promote justice and righteousness in society.

3. Respect for Prophets and Scriptures: Islam acknowledges and respects the prophets and scriptures of other Abrahamic religions, including Judaism and Christianity. Muslims believe that earlier scriptures, such as the Torah and the Gospel, were also revelations from Allah. However, they believe that the Quran is the final and most comprehensive revelation, superseding previous scriptures, which they believe may have been altered or distorted over time.

4. Islamic Sects: Islam is not a monolithic religion, and there are different sects within the Muslim community. The two main branches are Sunni and Shia Islam, with Sunnis comprising the majority (around 85-90% of Muslims) and Shias forming the minority. The divisions arose primarily over the issue of succession after the death of Prophet Muhammad. Despite differences in certain beliefs and practices, Muslims of different sects share a common foundation of Islamic principles and often coexist peacefully.

high school

About the Creator

Ibrahim ashraf

nothing special just for public figure

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2023 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.