Education logo

Is Instagram A Good Platform For Teachers

Because I have mixed feelings about Instagram as a platform for teachers, I would like to use this opportunity to talk about it

By Samuel HillPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Because I have mixed feelings about Instagram as a platform for teachers, I would like to use this opportunity to talk about it. These are my observations. These are not the views of all teachers.

Let me begin by saying that I am happy to have an official Instagram account. Since I created the account, I have been active every day. If I claimed otherwise, I would be lying. My experience with Instagram is mostly positive so I don't intend to sound negative. Instagram is a great tool for me, but it's not my favorite.

Twitter should be a professional hub for teachers. I've advocated for it for a long time, so I couldn't help but to compare the two. The reason I didn't use Instagram for so long is because I had Twitter. I didn't feel that I needed two platforms. That is still true. There is very little overlap between them. Both offer different value and there is room for them both in my life. The connections are often different. This platform gives me the opportunity to connect with new teachers which is something I am always grateful for.

This is my biggest strength with Instagram in terms of connections. In six months, I've built some strong relationships. It could be the algorithm that connects me to like-minded educators or the fun features that encourage interaction and conversation. I don't know the answer. It doesn't matter what it is, it's something I love. While I have my issues with Instagram, it is great for relationships.

The strength of your connections is more important than the number. It's worth noting that Instagram makes it much easier and quicker to grow a large network than Twitter. This should not be about numbers. However, it might be a consideration for authors, consultants and anyone who sells products or services. It is by far the best platform for marketing, engagement, and self-promotion (not only in education). However, this is a double-edged weapon. We'll get to this more later.

Instagram has many features, as I mentioned. I haven’t yet tapped into any of the newer features. It's a very creative platform that allows teachers the freedom to express themselves in many different ways. Stories, IGTV highlights, reels, live videos, and highlights are just a few of the many options available. Instagram is fun and full of personality. Even my regular feed posts are useful to me. Carousels allow users to swipe through multiple images at once, which opens up many creative options. The captions are long enough to provide detailed explanations and reflections. These long captions are almost like a blog for teachers. This is a great idea.

Let's get back to marketing. Self-promotion is something I don't mind. It's a necessity for content creators, and I think it's becoming more important. It is important to learn how self-promotion can be done ethically, responsibly and in a responsible manner. Because of its strong relationships and high engagement rate, Instagram is perfect for this. However, I find it far too intrusive to promote on Instagram, particularly monetised posts via brand partnerships. These are not necessarily bad, but I do think they should be managed carefully. Sponsored content can damage credibility. I question the motives of people and the authenticity in relationships, rightly or wrongly. Perhaps it's just me but I worry more about fakery on Instagram than I have ever on Twitter.

My main problem with Instagram. This is my main issue with Instagram. Although the context may be different, it reminds me of a phrase I read in Children Deserve It! by Adam Welcome and Todd Nesloney. Instagram needs more meat and less glitter.

Instagram is a visual platform that offers many benefits. The downside is that too much attention is given to content that is... well, here's the worst word in education... cute. Too often, useful content is overlooked. Teachers are not to blame (I include myself in this). It's simply the nature of the platform. It's hard to decide between posts that add value and posts that are engaging. Glitter is a far better selling tool than meat on Instagram. This metaphor is still relevant.

Twitter, although it may seem slow and boring by comparison, has a greater impact on my teaching practice. Every time I scroll through Twitter I learn something or expand my thinking in some manner. Instagram isn't as interesting. The glitter often drowns out the meat. It is more important than ever that you connect with the right people in order to allow the algorithm to help bring the best "meaty" content to your attention.

Is Instagram a good platform to teach? Despite my critics, it is actually a great platform for teachers. It is a great thing, as I already said. It's okay because there are more positives than negatives. It's something I accept as it is, and I am enjoying its benefits: creativity, relationships, and reflection. These are all very important.

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.