Education logo

Invisible- Chapter 1

Just a girl trying to survive high school

By SarahPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

"Hey loser!" Someone from a group of kids shouted as they walked by.

"Get out of our way!" Another one called.

"Jerks." I thought as I did my best to maneuver around their group, ignoring their harsh nicknames.

I hate this school. I hate my life. When can I go back to the safe haven of my tree house?

My name is Victoria Ross. I'm the loser of the school that no one, not even the unpopular nerds, want to talk to. I'm an outcast. A misfit.

I don't even fit in at home. The only place I can feel safe, and fit in at, is alone in my tree house that my dad built me the year before he died. How sad is that?

My dad died when I was eight and my mom has been a total bitch since he died. His death must have hit her pretty hard, but we never even talk about him, so I wouldn’t know.

I scurry down the hall to my first hour, dreading my life, and trying not to get noticed. I had a target on my back at this school, big enough that you could drive a truck through it. The equivalent to a "kick me" sign.

In my rush, I didn’t notice someone sticking their foot out to block my path. That is, until I tripped straight over it. In a panic, I tried to catch myself but it was too late. My books went flying everywhere and my face smacked the ground- hard.

The halls erupted in laughter and I looked up through a flurry of papers still floating around to see the school bully, Stefanie. Her petite figure loomed over me, grinning ear to ear, with her hands on her hips.

Her stupid little cronies were doubled over in laughter and her boyfriend just sort of... stood there. I'd never seen him smile, ever. His body was mangled with tattoos, a fad that never made sense to me. I'd never seen him in anything but black skinny jeans and a black or white V-neck T-shirt. He had a mop of brown, curly hair and piercing green eyes.

Right now those green eyes were glaring at me, but as soon as they caught me looking, they darted away to the nearest wall, transitioning back to looking bored and uninterested; one of the few looks I had ever seen him with.

"Wasn't that funny Harry?" Stefanie's high-pitched voice snapped me back to reality. She had not taken her dark blue eyes off of me. I hadn’t realized I’d been staring at him. Again.

Harry gave one stiff nod in agreement, not looking away from the wall.

"Hope you had a nice trip, see you next fall!" Stefanie cackled as her and her group walked away, Harry trailing behind, stopping only to give me one last glare.

I wanted to tell her how stupid she sounded but my voice was lost in my throat. I shivered.

God, what was her problem? And what was up with her cold, closed-off boyfriend? He was annoyingly intriguing and she was just… well, annoying.

My nose stung, again bringing me back to the situation at hand, and when I reached up to touch it, I groaned. Blood.

I wanted to be angry, but I was too weak. Anger would solve nothing anyway. Anger would allow her to win, and I couldn't have that.

I grabbed a tissue out of my pocket to stop the blood from pouring down my face, while trying to gather up my things. No one helped me. In fact, a few people went out of their way to step on my things.

I pushed through the crowd to the bathroom, trying to block out the laughter coming from behind me.

God, why couldn't I just be invisible?

student
1

About the Creator

Sarah

My mission is to help women have a successful, happy life. I mainly write about blogging, but I've got other stories written here as well!

Want more blogging tips? Check out my blog- updated every week! https://www.sarahmarie.blog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.