Education logo

International Epilepsy Awareness Day

My Story and Some Epilepsy Facts

By Rene PetersPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
9
Found on Google

Today, February 12, 2024, is international epilepsy awareness day. Because of that, I want to share my story of having epilepsy for nearly 10 years. I'll start with this...

It's hard. The last almost 10 years has been a pain in the ass. It has been seemingly nonstop tests, neverending failing medication trials, and feeling ashamed and embarrassed. Becoming an advocate took several years. I am lucky in the sense of having a great support system through family and friends, many of whom I would have never met had I not been diagnosed.

The stigma attached with epilepsy makes it so much harder to have a somewhat normal life. While there are some positive things that I learned at a relatively young age, the cons outweigh the pros by a lot. It's hard to lose "friends" at the age of 13 because of something you can't control. (I was 13... I thought we were real friends.)

Here are some of the positive things I try to remind myself that I would not have learned without going through the pits of hell and being seemingly stuck there...

There are so many more problems though...

You lose a lot when you have seizures. You lose relationships that you find important, many people lose happiness and tranquility, and perhaps most bothersome to people, especially adults, you lose freedom if your seizures aren't controlled by any of the countless methods of seizure control. About 1/3 of people have this issue of intractable epilepsy, where they have tried at least two medications with no success. Failure of medications includes side effects so severe the medication cannot be used, it stops working, or it doesn't completely control the seizures.

I have had two of those things happen. The first medication I was on made it so I was seizure free for nearly five months BUT if a medication causes you to feel suicidal, it isn't worth using that one. I was so depressed that I didn't want to be alive. I didn't try to do anything (while I was on that one) but I couldn't stop thinking, "It would be so much easier for everyone if I was dead." When my doctor was told, she started weaning me off that medication. I thought the side effects were fine because I wasn't having seizures on it. I thought the feelings were normal. (We're all dumb as teenagers... If you say you weren't, I'll immediately accuse you of lying.) I have never had a medication control my seizures since that one. The second one they tried actually made it so I predicted them within a three day period and I was always accurate.

There have been many times where I get embarrassed about them. Sometimes it's the seizures but other times it's the side effects. My short-term memory is shot from the third medication I was put on. I can meet someone and in under a minute, I forget their name and sometimes even what they look like. One medicine was such a a high dose trying to gain control that I went to school, in high school, walking like I was drunk. For a while, the nurse would come out with a wheelchair and brought me to her office every morning before everyone got off the bus. It's humiliating to experience that, especially when you're 14.

It took a couple of years (probably about 1-2) of attending support group, learning about seizures, and meeting people who truly understand my situation to even be open with people about having seizures. It took even longer to start to be an advocate. I believe it was about 4 years. At that point I began to volunteer for the same organization that helped me come to terms with it and meet people who truly understood what I am dealing with. Giving back to them helps both them and myself. Epilepsy worsens depression and anxiety, helping them helps my depression. It gives me a sense of purpose unlike anything else.

high schoolCONTENT WARNING
9

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I love that you are so driven by what was meant to harm you. You are the conqueror and not the conquered!

  • Losing friends, especially the ones that we thought was real, is really very hurting. I'm at awe looking at your strength. Keep your head up and keep going, girlieee! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    I am glad you are sharing your experiences on your seizure awareness. It will be interesting on your thoughts and progress you will make in the coming years. Sending you hugs. Glad Patches is doing better.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I don't think you were a dumb teen. Dumber than you are now, for sure.... but in another ten years, the now version of you will seem pretty daft, too. I appreciate you sharing your insight. It never occurred to me that it was something with stigma attached (I have a friend with a rare form of epilepsy who has been very open about it for as long as she's had it, which is almost as long as I've known her.) Your perspective has helped me see yet another challenging layer in an already challenging situation. It's also helped me to appreciate her courage in being so open. So thank you!

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    You’re an inspiration to share your story with all. 

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    I applaud you for becoming an advocate for not only yourself but all who live with epilepsy. As someone living with a chronic health issue I have a question; do you feel you can become friends with your own experiences? I was in program at Uppsala University in Sweden for people with chronic repetitive pain syndrome (#CRPS) last year and the psychiatrist asked me this. I thought it was an easy question for her to ask yet I had no answer then. I see it now as we are more like unwanted companions or the room mate one is stuck with in Uni. that's annoying. What do you think, Rene?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.