Education logo

I’m at the wrong school

My school is too small

By Ben MPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I am a big golfer and so that played a large part in where I went to school. I didn’t play the kind of tournaments that I needed to to get on a big school’s D1 roster. Despite this I had a strong reputation as a great player in my home town. This led to countless D3 offers from coaches thinking they found a diamond in the rough. I wanted to play college golf so bad so I chose to go to one of these smaller D3 schools. It was the liberal arts school just down the road from my high school. I was never excited about the decision to be honest, it was just my next school, and it wasn’t the big school that I wanted. On top of this my dad has bullied me out of living on campus. I was going to live on campus, and every time I brought it up to my dad he threw a fit until he said “you’re going to school right down the road. Don’t be dumb. If you live on campus I’m not guaranteeing your loans”. He is going to buy me a car which will be similar to paying for room and board so obviously this is all just a power trip for him.

I’m currently laying in bed, 17 years old, senior in high school being stuck in my corona quarantine. I guess I’m writing this to make the thoughts in my head make more sense. There’s a lot going on up there when I think about all this. Honestly I think I am going to transfer after my freshman year, even if I don’t get a scholarship to play golf at my new school. I’m going to have my own car so I can go visit schools whenever I want to, and I can practice so hard to get the numbers I need to impress these D1 coaches.

I’ve been falling in love with Ohio state. The search started out as just kind of looking at what schools I think I could compete at and hang with the other players. Ohio state was that school, they play in the Big 10, they have one of the best college football teams in American, parties/ bars there look dope as hell. I think if I can go to this local D3 school and play well (average of 74.99 or below per round) and email the coach I have a real chance at being able to transfer and finally feel excited about college.

college
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.