Education logo

I Finally Graduated

2024 graduate

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 21 days ago 3 min read
4

Everyone. I finally did it. I graduated from college. I was actually supposed to graduate back in 2021, but things happen and sometimes we have to take a break.

I got my BA degree in writing and although my in-laws say it is a useless degree, in my heart I know that it is not. I am extremely grateful for the support I got from my family throughout my college journey.

My daughter and my boyfriend being present meant so much to me, along with my parents.

I remember when I was on a phone call with my dad and I was like: “it’s not gonna be important.” And what was his response? “What do you mean not important?” It’s very fucking important! You went through so many challenges but you persevered, don’t let anyone ruin your special day, be proud of yourself for your achievements.” When he said those words to me I then realized it was all true. I faced struggles such as not being able to attend campus at times due to not having a car and having to pay Uber all the time, I had to make sure my daughter would be in good hands while I would go to school. I had to stay up late at night to make sure my essays were well written. My priority has always been my daughter, but I always managed to make sure that my assignments were turned in on time because my professors should not have pity on me for being a mom. Being a mom can sometimes be difficult, but I did not use that as an excuse to give up. Instead I told myself that I want to inspire my daughter to not give up on her dreams, I never saw her as an obstacle in my academic journey. Although my in-law told me it was useless of my daughter to be present at my graduation, I didn’t care, her presence is what mattered most to me.

My boyfriend bought me a beautiful white dress from Akira. I felt like a complete star wearing it for my graduation! I felt like a true princess in it.

One of the most memorable aspects of my graduation experience was the sense of accomplishment and pride that washed over me as I walked across the stage to receive my diploma. It was a culmination of years of hard work, dedication, and perseverance. The cheers from family and friends in the audience echoed the support and love that had propelled me forward during the toughest of times. My graduation was not just about receiving a diploma—it was about embracing the journey, embracing the challenges, and emerging stronger, and ready to take on whatever the future may hold. My graduation does not mean I’ll be successful right away in getting my dream job. I have had people tell me they graduated from college but they did not work in something related to their field right away, it takes time. Some people are lucky after graduation, and for others, it takes time. But I believe that it is all worth it. I did not just attend school to get good grades, because let’s be real, what company is gonna ask you what your grades are? Apart from passing all my classes, I was able to form friendships and connect with my professors. I was able to realize that my degree in writing does not limit me to only focus on writing but that I can use it as a school for other types of careers such as recruiting or content creation.

My graduation is something I will never forget and I will not give up on finding my dream job!

collegestudentdegree
4

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 21 days ago

    Good job on graduating

  • Lana V Lynx21 days ago

    Congratulations and you should be absolutely proud of yourself!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.