Education logo

I Dropped Out of College

My story behind my future

By Michelle WhitePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Dropped Out of College
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

My future has never seemed very bright. I dropped out of college more than once, which I'm positive disappointed my family. I suffer from depression and anxiety, and bipolar disorder. But I try my hardest not to let it stop me from doing what I want to do, which is get an education. I currently study at my own pace online, through a coding website. I love anything tech related, or computer related. It helps me challenge my brain and makes me realize I'm a lot smarter than I let myself believe.

I want to learn how to develop video games through coding, software such as apps, virtual reality games and web development. I currently took a break from my web development learning to jump into my video game course. I have tried learning through free websites, but $40 a month isn't so bad for schooling. I know it'll add up to a larger amount paid out, especially when I take longer to do it. But I do enjoy taking my time to make sure my mental health is taken care of also.a

See, education is important to me. Some people feel like they aren't smart enough for college, or for learning. Most people drop out of high school. I was almost one of those people. I begged my mom to let me quit. After bullying, and feeling like I wasn't good enough to do anything, I begged my mom to let me quit school and just be homeschooled. She never did, and to this day I still wish I could thank her for it. She helped set me up for the little bit of success I have now.

See, education is definitely important. It does help set you up for success in today's society. While there are plenty of other ways to be successful without a college degree, there are plenty of other ways to gain that college degree. There's many universities that help you, and many other colleges that help as well even if it is a community college. There is absolutely nothing wrong with going away to a university for school. Staying home is probably what's best that way you can still have the help of your family!

I enjoy learning. I'm hoping to meet others who enjoy learning as much as I do. But I deeply enjoy it. I love study groups, getting together with a nice cup of tea or coffee and just helping each other achieve your goals. There's something truly beautiful to be found in a study group friendship. I do also enjoy having a cup of tea or coffee with someone in general while we talk about life goals. It's important to have support and accountability while you try to achieve everything you want in life. Even if you don't have it, fight for it anyways.

However, what’s actually stopping you from achieving everything you do want? I found that Amazon has a self-publishing option. What’s stopping you from writing and publishing that book you’ve been wanting to do, but putting off? You’ll make money from it, and you get to begin a writing career doing what you love! Writing for me has always been a wonderful release, and as I stated before, you don’t need a college education to become successful in life.

Don’t let anything stop you or hold you back from fulfilling your dreams! Be your own boss, do your own thing. Work from home and make your living. Nothing should hold you back from being everything you’ve dreamed of being! Pursue your dreams, start today. Don’t let anything or anyone tell you differently. You are your OWN BOSS. Own it and demand everything you deserve.

Like what you read? I'd love to tell you more about my studies! Donate towards it if you'd like!

student
Like

About the Creator

Michelle White

Hi! My name is Michelle, and I love to write about many things. I find that writing is a wonderful release for me, and I'm sure many of you feel the same! I enjoy reading everyone's wonderful stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.