Education logo

How To Gain Much More Of the Books That You Study

Make sure that you retain more from the reading

By Mohammad ArifPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

In my childhood when i was growing up, reading is not fun. In that time, every coffee shop was full of people reading a book while drinking a latte. This was a big shift. I have also read more books than ever before. But the question is: it's not about how much books you have read, but how much you Gain, what you read.

Some of the people I talk to have no reading strategy. They only pick things up and read. I was also like that. But after, that was not thinkable to me. You can, of course, read novels for entertainment.

Think a little about it, that why you read a non-fiction book in the first place? To be precise, you want to retain something from that, and to learn things that can be applied to growth in your life, and this is the point. I am asked, 'How you remember the things that you read?' In this article I will explain.

1. You must have a Purpose

First of all i look at what books I want to read and also think what I want to achieve. I firmly believe that the content of the book should be consistent with what is happening in your life. Let me give you an example.

Once I met my mentor in 2011, he recommended me to read Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi's Flow. I listened to his suggestion and brought this book. I also started reading. But I was not exposed to the content at the time. Is that mean Flow is not a good book? Do not. In Real, I read it for some time and liked it a lot. This is the best book on work habits I have ever read.

But even in 2011, I never thought about these kinds of things. I just completed my degree and started some business. I'm as busy as an idiot and just thinking about how to grow my business. This is why you need a reading goal.

What has happened in your life?

Are you starting a business?

Facing a divorce?

looking for a job?

Are you trying to take the next step in your career?

Do you want to achieve more?

You should read that books in which it is thaught to you, how to face your present challenges.

2.Consider Yourself A Teacher

Knowledge pretty good only in that case if you use it correctly? But many people do not consider one thing: knowledge sharing is a good application. You may not be a teacher, but if you act like a teacher, you are using knowledge. Just need to change the mindset.

Do not only "read" a book. No, swallow a book and talk about it with others.

Keep in your mind this, "I need to focus on the book that is at hand, because I want to share everything I learn with others. I will know my shit better."

3.Emphasize and establish psychological connections

As more connections you make in between pieces of information in brain, the more you can remember them. I do this by making much more of notes.

And if you consider that books are sacred and must not be highlighted and written, you can never gain from the book. To make notes, fold pages, highlight text, these all are practical and simple. That's why I always bring focal points and pens. While reading digitally, all you need is your fingers. Only do not forget to highlight interesting passages.

Here are some other tips to better connect me between messages:

  1. There is a separate "Book Notes" folder in my notes application.
  2. When I emphasize something that is important, I make a picture of the page and send it to my study notes.
  3. Then I immediately wrote down why it is important and how to use it.

Ussually i apply this process because I emphasize things often, and when I look back, I think, "Why did I emphasize that?"

Therefore always make sure that why you are highlighting something. You must not do this for each highlight. Do this only for the section you are currently applying for. I regularly write down how I can use advice in my business. When I have an idea for an article, I think of a headline and attach a photo of my tagged text.

4. Visualization and imagination

One more great way to make contact in your brain is to imagine what you are learning. We all are visual learners and our memories are visual.

When I read, I like to have an imaginary dialogue about what I read. I imagine I am sitting with a friend and talking about this topic. Or when I read a helpful suggestion, I imagine I actually do.

The first time I read Dale Carnegie's "How to Win Friends and Influence Other," I still remember it. One of Carnegie's suggestions is to take a genuine interest in people.So I imagined I was talking to a stranger and really interested in what that person would say. When you imagine something, it almost seems like the right thing to do.

Visualization is also a common tool for self-improvement used by many of the best performers. Paul Pierce, a recently retired NBA player, once explained how he used it before the game:

"I can imagine myself, the shooting opportunities I will get in the game, how I will defend, what we have to do to stop the best player of the other team, what will it cost me, all aspects of the game."

5.Apply a new knowledge immediately

See to your life and yourself. Ask a question from yourself: That how can I improve? It can be personal, economic or spiritual.

Remember that improvement does not occur by itself. To learn new skills, to earn more money and building good relationships, these all need hard work.

However, if you apply what you have learned in the book, you can facilitate this growth.

Note that only Knowledge is not enough.

There is not anything sadder than a knowledgeable person being held captive by the walls of his/her room. You need to go out and apply what you have learned. Once you do, you will improve. no doubt. So always ask yourself the this one questions after you have completed reading a book.

"What is that one thing I want to apply for after reading that book?"

It's all about what you are doing with your knowledge and not how more knowledge you have. Do not read too much, but read smarter.

When you read something, also do this strategy. Even a little thing similar like this article. So let's start some exercises to end it:

What is the first thing you will apply after finishing this article?

To answer that , I bet you will remember more from this article than anything else you read today.

Thanks

student
2

About the Creator

Mohammad Arif

I am health professional and freelance writer, who have 4 years of experience in the field of freelance writing. I also offer paraphrasing/rewriting services to my clients.I love to work on subjects like HEALTH & fitness, fashion, travel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.