Education logo

How Dropping out of College was the Greatest Decision of my Life.

Live your life the way it was intended to be lived.

By Kennedy MontecuePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
How Dropping out of College was the Greatest Decision of my Life.
Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

To make a long story short, I dropped out of college about 3 years ago. At the time, I was a physically sick 22-year-old theatre major that didn't genuinely know what she wanted to do with her life.

I mean, I was doing what I was "supposed" to do when you get out of high school right? Go to college, graduate with a BFA in Theatre Arts, and become a Drama Teacher. My life was all planned out until it wasn't.

I developed a stomach illness that hindered me from me being able to continue my studies.

Of course, I know I could have done online classes, but at that point in my life, I was just trying to stay alive to see the next day.

When I was recovering from the many terrible flare-ups I've had, I realized that life was too short to do something I no longer felt passionate about. I have this one life, I didn't want to spend it in a classroom.

So, After I spoke to my mom (who was super supportive) I officially withdrew from all 4 college classes. As soon as I did, I felt this weight lifted off my shoulders, and new opportunities to turn my life into what I wanted it to be was possible.

Here is why dropping out of college was the best thing I've ever done:

I could take care of my health properly.

When I was in school, I was barely getting 5 hours of sleep. The reason being is because I was a full-time student along with play rehearsals that went well into 1 or 2 am.

My diet wasn't ideal for someone that has a terrible stomach disease so I did end up in the school's Doctors office at least twice a week.

I know what you're thinking, Why didn't you just pack your own lunch? I ate it all probably in between my last class and theatre rehearsals and I didn't trust the lettuce in the cafeteria so pizza it was.

When I dropped out, I was finally able to get the right amount of sleep and some, my eating changed for the better as I was able to stick to a strict diet that would help the lining of my stomach heal, and I even started lightly exercising for 15 to 30 minutes.

I had time to build my writing career.

I had been writing since I was 12 years old and started taking seriously when I was 19.

But due to my studies, it was difficult to get some good writing time in. Not even 30 minutes was available for me to focus on my writing craft.

Post dropout, I was able to build my readership, write many books, and create my own business.

I could explore other avenues in life.

Even though I do love writing, I know there are other things to do in life that I wouldn't have to time to explore if I was confined in the wall of a university or even sitting at my desk at home.

I could become a flight attendant and travel the world along with gaining new life experiences. Or even a commuter programmer as part of the "New Collar Job" opportunities.

The options in life our too endless to put myself in the mindset of having a degree will be the only way I'll be successful.

To be honest, I think some Youtubers have proved that point.

I don't regret any of the decisions I've made in my life so far regarding my education. I'm forever grateful for the knowledge I've gotten in college and wouldn't change it or trade it for anything.

I love the life long friendships I've made with both my former classmates and teachers that I've learned so much from.

But at this point in my life, I knew that the road to academia was no longer for me. I knew there was more that I needed to discover.

But as for now, I chose the path that was right for me, and I hope you do too

college
Like

About the Creator

Kennedy Montecue

Mental and Women’s Health Blogger who occasionally writes about love and social media, and freelance writing .Published Poet & Content Creator who edits articles for money :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.