Education logo

HBCU vs PWI

My Experience at Both

By Maya AnnPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Since I’ve been in college (2015), there’s been an ongoing internet debate about whether black college students should attend Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) or Predominantly White Institutions (PWIs). I’m sure this debate has been going on since before I began college, so what’s the big deal? Is there a difference? Isn’t a degree a degree?

Some students want the experience of a majority black learning environment or the historical context connected to HBCUs. For other students, the historical context or majority black learning environment isn’t in their top list of priorities. Some look for racial diversity, and while there is no HBCU that is completely black and there are no PWIs that are completely white, the level of racial diversity tends to differ between the two. The performance levels differ amongst the different institutions. Location is a key factor in this debate because, for some students, there aren’t HBCUs within a four to five hour radius, and going to college in the southeast region of the US where majority of the 102 HBCUs are located isn’t an option.

Every student is different and has a different set of needs. The institution of your choosing should be reflective of your needs, not the opinions of others. I go to a HBCU, so clearly I’m pro HBCU. I’ll be speaking from my experience based on my needs, my background, and my observations.

I started my college career at Old Dominon University (a PWI, in Norfolk, Virginia) and I am finishing my undergraduate college career at North Carolina A&T State University (a HBCU in Greensboro, North Carolina). Obviously, a transfer happened.

Let’s take a look at both colleges:

Old Dominion University, or ODU, has a pretty diverse student body. According to Niche, it is the third most diverse college in Virginia. The school is located in the tidewater area, which is home to many other colleges and military bases, making the overall area diverse as well.

North Carolina A&T State University, or NCAT, has a student body with 84 percent black students. It’s located in Greensboro, North Carolina along with Bennett College (HBCU) and University of North Carolina at Greensboro (PWI). Greensboro is not as diverse as the tidewater area, but it is still diverse.

Old Dominion University’s Racial Breakdown:

North Carolina A&T State University’s Racial Breakdown:

Why did I initially go to a PWI? The short answer is: That’s where the most people I knew went. Honestly, I’ve always wanted to go to a HBCU. I was the first in my family not to initially attend an HBCU. ODU was supposed to be a this big diverse institution with a large black student body, so I figured that, coupled with the amount of people I knew going, it would be close enough to what I’d be missing out on. Clearly it wasn’t, ODUs idea of inclusion was playing music by black artist in the student center, at activity hour, and in the cafe. There was nothing outside of the fact that there were other black students there that made me feel comfortable or fully immersed. Like the other minorities at the school, black students usually formed clusters. All of my professors were white and my classes were filled with majority white people. This was new to me because I came from a school system and city that is majority black. I didn’t feel at home and there was nothing in place trying to make me feel at home, so I left.

As for my experience at a HBCU, it’s been all that I’ve expected. People will see the numbers and immediately assume NCAT is less diverse. While that may be true racially, I assure you that, culturally, my university is very diverse. Race is not the only area where diversity counts. Diversity includes: race, gender, sexuality, socioeconomic background, religion, age, and many other factors. NCAT has clubs and organizations that reflect just how diverse it is. We have clubs/organizations for: LGBTQ+ students, students of different nationalities, and students of different religious backgrounds. There is also diversity interests of students. From the day I went on my campus tour, I felt a more familiar vibe. There were black professors, administrators, and black students (like I was used to). The staff was more social and friendly. Orientation and move-in day made my mother feel like she was leaving me with relatives.

Academically, I can’t speak to what ODU would have done for me as a communications major (freshman take majority general education courses), but NCAT has one of the top Journalism programs for black students. We have a full functioning TV Studio, Radio Station, and editing labs equipment with Adobe Premiere Pro. NCAT has also produced very successful and notable journalists from their communications department.

A lot of the time, HBCUs are painted as less than when this debate is going on, but I lost nothing by switching from a PWI to a HBCU. I honestly feel like I put myself in a better position academically and environmentally.

All in all, it’s based off of you! This is just my experience on how a HBCU served me better. I’m sure there are people with the opposite experience. Clearly there are differences, but those differences don’t change the fact that everyone is there for a degree. Yes, I am pro HBCU, but I’m definitely not anti-PWI. I’m all for black folks getting education wherever they see fit.

college
Like

About the Creator

Maya Ann

23, Black, Woman

Digital Content Creator

Twitter: @TheMayaAnn

IG: @TheMayaAnn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.