Education logo

Having Random Roommates in College

It is a rollercoaster.

By Olivia CountessPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
The View from My Apartment (Featuring Some of My Plants)

I am now a sophomore at USC. Last year I had my fair share of wild roommate experiences. And just like last year, I went random for my roommates this year.

How Freshman Year Rooming Went

Let me first explain how last year was.

My first roommate was normal-ish. She really enjoyed eating ice out of our freezer. Like literally cracking it open so ice would form, then pulling a chair up in front of it, and going at the frost.

It wasn't always bad. We bonded, listened to music together, and considered each other friends for a while.

But, like a lot of students at USC and all around the country, she started drinking... a lot.

Which like go off, sis, I guess. I personally don't care for all the drinking culture stuff and the appeal of stumbling to five points in all types of weather. My friends did inform me that I can't go out with them in a sweater, which reaffirmed my decision to not go period.

So she managed to lose almost all her friends because she was unreliable when drunk... and usually peed on herself.

Which brings me to how our friendship ended. She blacked out... and peed on my clothes.

Yes, you read that right. And yes, it is as weird and terrible as it sounds.

So, there I am, with a sinus infection, trying to handle the situation. And to make a long and uncomfortable story short: I was later emergency evacuated out.

My second roommate at least can be summed up quick: A spoiled brat, who used terms that I hadn't heard since middle school. "Let's get figgity f@#$ked up."

You've got to be kidding me, but yeah, people are really like that.

How Sophomore Year Rooming Is Going

Well, not super terrible.

My roommates are friends from their sorority. So they kinda exclude me, target me when the apartment is dirty, and don't even acknowledge me.

My friends and boyfriend think it's the age difference between us, but I think it's just how some people are.

Today, specifically, after being left notes to clean stuff that weren't even my mess several times, I've received long messages about apologizing and "keeping our shared spaces clean."

Anyway I've got my own stuff to care about and worry about.

I'm a producer, I don't have the time to be home to make a mess.

Advice Time Now

Living with other people will always come with ups and downs. As long as there is SOME kind of communication—even if it is notes and long apology texts—it will work out.

And next year when I live with my best friend, I will not have the same worries as this year.

And even if you have to live with different people than you, you got this.

Making it to college is something that makes it worth all the craziness—and at least it gives you interesting stories to tell.

college
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Countess

I have quite a crazy life, so stay tuned.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.