Education logo

Harvard, 4:30 a.m

Harvard University library has such a motto: "If you go to bed now, you will have a dream; If I read now, I will make my dream come true." When I traveled to the United States, I chose Harvard University as my first stop. The first thing you do when you visit Harvard is to go to the Vidler Library

By Jane OxleyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Harvard University library has such a motto: "If you go to bed now, you will have a dream; If I read now, I will make my dream come true." When I traveled to the United States, I chose Harvard University as my first stop. The first thing you do when you visit Harvard is to go to the Vidler Library.

With a collection of 3.45 million volumes, Vidler Library is the most common of Harvard's more than 100 libraries. This ordinary library, however, is highly unusual.

Outside the solid wall of New England red brick stand two stone tablets, one of which reads: "Vidler, Harvard College student, born June 3, 1885, went down with the Titanic on April 12, 1912." Another inscription reads: "The library was dedicated by Vidler's mother on June 24, 1915. The most meaningful book in the museum is the Essays of Francis Bacon."

As it turned out, Vidler and his mother were trying to get into a small boat to escape when the Titanic sank. Suddenly, Vidler turned to let his mother get into the boat first, but he turned to go back to his cabin. He told his mother, "I forgot the Essays of Francis Bacon. I can't let this book I love go to the bottom of the sea!" In this way, love books such as life of Harvard student Vidler, in order to rescue a book, and the book sank together.

In a corner of the main hall of the library, I finally found the volume of Essays of Francis Bacon that I had been longing for for so long. It was in a small, airtight glass frame, and the book was completely faded. This is the first book that Vidler's mother bought after donating to the library. The book has lain there for 95 years. At the bottom of the book was written the words: "Book with Vidler!"

I walked out of the Vidler Library in a strange mood and looked affectionately at the Harvard campus, which was bathed in brilliant sunshine. The statue of Harvard stands in front of the wall of the old campus. Pedestrians on the road, not heavy makeup, no colourful clothes, only the pace in a hurry; By the lake, under the trees and on the lawn, students were everywhere reading, taking notes and thinking about problems.

Harvard occupies 154 hectares, with no modern high-rises and libraries built of New England red brick. People at Harvard love books. It can be said that every person at Harvard is a library.

Harvard PHDS chew through three large books a day and submit insightful reading reports to their tutors. A British television station has done a special program entitled "4:30 in the morning", the content reflects that, in an ordinary 4:30 in the morning, the Harvard library is full of seats, has been filled with quietly reading, carefully taking notes, positive thinking Harvard students......

I checked into a hotel near Harvard University and decided to witness 4:30 a.m. on Harvard campus for myself.

The next morning, just after 4 a.m., I revisited the Harvard campus. The beautiful campus is quiet in the morning light. By the lake and the roadside, many students are concentrating on their morning reading. Into the Harvard University library, I saw every reading room is brightly lit, every seat sitting reading students......

Today, Harvard has produced eight U.S. presidents, 40 Nobel Prize winners and 30 Pulitzer Prize winners. The success of Harvard people is inseparable from the library, they love books like life. Through careful reading and bold innovation, they turn their dreams into reality

travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.