Education logo

Go to College, or?

Maybe...do video courses taught by industry experts!

By stephanie borgesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Parker Gibbons on Unsplash

If there was one thing I wanted to do when I was younger was to attend college. Everywhere I turned college this college that. College was shown as this glamourous thing that is a must. So in my first year, I notice college was in a way like High school, you got the jocks, the techies, the culinary (ok, not the culinary, because there were lunch ladies), and finally the outcasts (where I fit in). The classes were more attractive because they had to do with the career I wanted to do. I liked that I was able to choose the time I wanted to go. (Well, if the class was available.) It became an issue when I had to get a job to pay for my classes; I was lucky to have financial aid and fee waivers because college wasn't free. The textbooks would be pricy, and most of my paycheck would go into books.

Photo by Fa Barboza on Unsplash

To be honest, I thought I would be getting a job in my career soon. Man, was I dead wrong. My first major was graphic design. I loved being creative and manipulate images. It was like I was able to show you what I saw in my head. Unfortunately, I couldn't find any work because I didn't have much experience; I was still in my second year. Plus, I didn't have most of the programs on my home computer, so I couldn't practice. I hated one thing when I had to take math classes and other courses for the General Education points to go towards the Associate Degree. It took me a long time to graduate, how long…14 years. Yes, I'm serious, and no, I'm not joking.

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

You would think after graduating, I won't go back to school; think again. I got into filmmaking. So I attended a university, I don't want to say the school's name because of a lawsuit, so I will refer to it as the University of IOU (I Owe You). Attending the University of IOU was a highly recommended school; it was on TV, even one of my favorite singers attended the school. But this school didn't keep their promise of helping me find my career; I was just ignored and told to just fix my resume. Other students said the school didn't help them either. So I wasn't surprised when I heard the school was closing. I'm glad I got my Bachelor's degree before it closed, but I felt going to school was a waste of time; I graduated in 2017. To this day, I have struggled to find a job in both film and multimedia. And it was worst than the Pandemic of COVID-19.

Photo by Maksym Kaharlytskyi on Unsplash

I'll be honest I felt I choose the wrong career path because I wasn't enjoying working on film sets; I had a passion for writing. But to get into scriptwriting was just as hard, and getting an internship was pretty much impossible. So here I am with a Bachelor's degree and Associates's degree. Thankfully I can use my degree to find other writing jobs and social media. Thanks to an Instructor that told me about LinkedIn Learning.

Photo by Emma Matthews Digital Content Production on Unsplash

Thank goodness for LinkedIn Learning. You can get the same experience as a college by doing the online learning courses; best of all, you can get certified, and you can put it on your resume.

For just $30, a month you can learn pretty must anything. I felt I picked up more information from LinkedIn Learning than at the University of IOU.

Let's be real here, in this day and age, to get any job, it's no longer about what you know; it is who you know.

Photo by Minh Pham on Unsplash

So it is all about Networking and Social media.

college
Like

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.