Education logo

Getting My Master's

I didn't stop learning

By Samantha AbruzzesePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

So, I originally got my BA in Sociology and Anthropology back in 2016. I did not know if I wanted to go further and get my MA. I spent time working in the field with kids in the system and then I started working with adults with disabilities. Earlier this year, I had decided that I wanted to apply for a graduate program given my job has a relationship with some universities for certain programs. I applied for the graduate program for Applied Psychology focusing on Applied Behavior Analysis. I got in and now I am busting my behind trying to make grades.

Prior to getting in at this school, I had applied to two other schools and I was denied. I got no reason for the denial just that I had not been accepted and that was tough. This time, I actually went through the interviews and were asked all the hard questions. I was so unsure if I was going to get in because we had gone about a month with no word on who was accepted. I was out on a Sunday going for a walk at the park when I got the email that I had been accepted. I was jumping for joy and could not wait to tell everyone. It was so exciting because I am the first person from my whole family to get their BA and now I will be the first person in my family with their master's degree.

I love what I do for my job and with all this schooling I am about to go through, it will definitely be worth it. Working in the field of psychology, my hopes are to be able to work with individuals with disabilities as well as working with individuals who are dealing with issues surrounding addiction. I have been personally involved with people in my family with addictions problems as well as other people I loved. It is a very hard thing to watch someone go through. I want to see if there are things I can do to help others in that situation.

For those of you who want to further their education, I say do it. There is no better time than now or you will never go through with it. I know plenty of people who say they are looking into school options for themselves but from my experience and the experience of others, once you stop going to school it just gets harder to get back into school settings.

degree
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Abruzzese

Just started grad school this semester. I love my job and hope to continue to grow in my job. I am getting married next year and can't wait to spend the rest of my life with this amazing man!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.